Skip to content

two feminist thoughts

June 10, 2010

This is a recurring thought of mine, but I find it frustrating ironic that to give myself the best chance of having a discussion about feminism and sexism, at least with a person who haven’t had that discussion with several times before, I can’t say words like “sexism” and “feminism”.

This post, on insulin pump accessories and what they can mean to people, got me thinking a lot about how being queer has affected my feminism. Being bisexual, and genderqueer, and just generally queer radically influences my views on gender essentialism, which in turn speaks to all areas of my feminism. Sometimes it’s good for me to be reminded of that, to remember that not everyone comes from this place, and that other experiences color the world very differently.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

