Skip to content

eating animals

May 29, 2010

I’ve been looking at my bank account lately, and noticing that I’m doing okay financially. There’s a little left over at the end of each month, which is kinda nice. It makes me think, though, that I should be considering what I can do with that money. Some of it gets saved, but some of it isn’t really for me. I’ve always thought that I would like to do better in my life, but that I can’t do certain things until my finances improve. Since things are settled right now, it seems like I should be considering where some of my money can go, and I’ve decided to attempt to switch to only buying meat from humanely raised animals.

I’ve always felt that eating animals is morally acceptable, because it’s perfectly natural, but it’s important to be aware that something died for you. Life is sacred, always, and should only be taken with good reason. It’s not wrong to kill an animal for food; it is wrong to kill it without appreciating that it was a living creature. Part of that is not torturing the animal during it’s life.

For a long time now I’ve been learning to cut back on my meat consumption. Being from meat and potatoes land, it’s been an adjustment for me to learn to put more veggies in my meals, and how to make that still taste good. I’ve been doing that because cutting meat from my diet means saving money on food, as well as doing a good thing for me and the environment. That’s been what I could do before.

I’ve got some money now, though. I’ve made changes to my budget so that there’s a little bit of room to breathe, and one thing I can do is spend a little bit more to try to make the lives of animals better. It doesn’t cost that much more, and now that I’m eating less meat it’s not very much of a change to my budget. (It is, however, a change to my shopping habits, as the closest store to my place doesn’t sell much humanely grown meat) We’ll see how this goes, but I’m pretty excited to make this change.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

