Skip to content

Laura Bush on Larry King

May 12, 2010

Laura Bush went on Larry King and said that she is both pro same sex marriage and pro-choice. I’m impressed mostly because it’s Laura Bush afterall. If she’s on our team then I have hope that we can get just about everyone on our team. :-)
Link to video

Rough transcript: (sorry if it sucks…I did it really quick before group meeting)
LK: Alright gay marriage, you tell us in the book that during the 2004 campaign you talked to George about not making it a significant issue. Do you think we should have it?
LB: Well I think that we ought to definitely look at it and debate it. I think that there are a lot of people who have trouble coming to terms with that because they see marriage as between a man and a woman, but I also think that when couples are committed to each other and love each other that they ought to have the same rights that everyone has.
LK: So would that be an area where you disagree?
LB: I guess that would be an area where we disagree. I mean I understand totally what George thinks and what other people think about marriage being between a man and a woman, and it’s a, really, reversal for that, to accept gay marriage.
LK: But you do.
LB: But I think we could yeah. I think it’s also a generational thing.
LK: Do you think it’s coming?
LB: It will come I think.
LK: How about choice?
LB: That was the…I written in the book about the first question I got on the morning of George’s inaugural from Katie Couric. That was the social issue in 2000 that everyone got asked about, and I think gay marriage was the social issue in 2004, and I would say in the most recent election as well. She asked me if I…she asked me two questions about abortion and then she asked me if I was for the overturn of Roe v. Wade. And sort of everything went through my mind. This was the very morning my husband was about to be inaugurated and I thought do I really want to start my husband’s presidency you know suggesting that a supreme court ruling bee overturned and I said no. And I think it’s important that it remain legal because I think it’s important for people for medical reasons and other reasons.
LK: So that would be two areas of disagreement.
LB: Uh huh.
LK: But you weren’t so expressive during the White House stay.
LB: Well I didn’t…about those issues you mean? No. I mean, I talked about those issues, I was asked about those issues a lot, not so much about abortion, in the 2004 election a lot about gay marriage that was the social issue that really animated that election I think.
LK: When you discuss it with your husband is it argumentative?
LB: No. Not at all. I mean, he understands and I understand his viewpoint and he understands mine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

