Skip to content

bisexual invisibiltiy

May 10, 2010

I thought this interview, of Cynthia Nixon (from “Sex and the City”) with The Advocate was great…with the exception of one small part. In regards to the change from being married to a man to dating a woman she says:

Since the initial acknowledgment, Nixon has opened up about Marinoni’s identity and their life together, but she maintains that coming out wasn’t the result of an earth-shattering personal revelation. There was no knock-you-down sense of shock, no Sturm und Drang about tiptoeing into queer territory. Nor does she think she was hardwired from birth to one day emerge from a sexual chrysalis as a lesbian. “I identify as gay as a political stance,” she says. “If anybody, prior to my meeting and falling in love with Christine, had asked me about what I think about sexuality, I would have said I think we’re all bisexual. But I had that point of view without ever having felt attracted to a woman. I had never met a woman I was attracted to [before Christine]. And maybe if I’d met her when I was 20, I would have fallen in love and only dated women. But maybe if I’d met her at 20, I wouldn’t have responded at all. Who knows?

It makes me sad that people feel that way. That “gay” is a political stance, but “bisexual” isn’t one, to her. To me, it’s an even bigger one. This is a huge reason why I have a hard time not feeling lonely – I can name famous homosexuals, but not so much with the bisexuals. I dunno. I find her exploration of the topic really great, it just makes me sad to see yet another person equate “same sex relationship” with “gay”.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

