Skip to content

wasting time

April 15, 2010

I’m in the upstairs lounge reading old posts of Dooce, because I think I’d marry Heather Armstrong if she wasn’t straight and already married. And thinking thoughts that would terrify Erik, but don’t worry dear, I just emailed them to Katie instead of sharing O:-)

I spend too much time in blog land. I’m always surprised that people don’t know who Heather Armstrong is. I also really want to read her book. She’s hilarious and amazing and I want her life.

I don’t know why I can’t get excited about science in front of my boss. I can get excited in front of him about other things. I can talk science with him. I know he wants me to combine the too, doesn’t understand why I don’t, is generally perplexed by me in a large part because I don’t get excited about science in front of him. But it just doesn’t happen. I’m boring and professional and always slightly distracted. He should see me when Alejandro and I talk about how much we want to take quantum field theory, or when I jump around in my office positively ITCHING because i can see how to solve my problem but it’s not done yet, or be in my head when I think about how frustrated that I am that I haven’t finished that book on dephasing that I checked out for orals and am reading before I return even though orals is over.

Btw, reading too much Dooce changes my mental thought style, in case you haven’t noticed. She writes a lot like Melissa McEwan over at Shakesville, which is probably part of why I love her. But yeah right now I want to type in ALL CAPS a lot. And Erik, you can blame any further scary conversation on Tatyana, because I would have a half hour less Dooce reading if she hadn’t moved her talk back by an hour. It’s not my fault, I swear.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

