Skip to content

forced gender conformity drives me crazy

February 28, 2010

Okay really this post could be titled "I adore Johnny Weir". Just so you know.

(As an aside. The fruit flies in my office are really super fast, but the ones in my apartment are super slow and easy to kill. And yes, I mean real actual fruit flies.)

So the Olympics are over, and NBC found inventive new ways to make me want to throw things at the TV. My biggest annoyance: the blatant homophobia leveled at Johnny Weir. (I’m still trying to figure out what do do with that word actually. He’s not out, but everyone treats him as if he’s gay. I firmly believe that you are what you say you are, so can someone be homophobic towards someone who doesn’t self-identify as gay? Anyway until I come up with a better way to say it that’s what I’ll have to use. /end_tangent)
The video on this page highlights that, as well as making me laugh.

The reason I really love Weir, though, is that he’s actually pretty damn free and awesome, and that always makes me happy. The culture we live in sucks pretty damn bad at allowing people to break gender roles. Women are allowed to be strong, sometimes, and men are allowed to be sensitive, sometimes, but pretty much we’re still stuck in surprisingly narrow boxes. Don’t believe me? Be a fly on the wall when I tell someone that I don’t like some particular girl thing, and listen to that person tell me to wear my hair down and to go shopping and to put on makeup and don’t I just love those earrings? (Dear world: the only time I want to be feminine is when I’m femming up for the boy. Really, none of the rest of y’all inspire that in me.)

Ironically, the same standards apply to figure skating. Anyone know if it applies to theater? I thought everyone knew figure skating was a gay sport. I’ve always assumed a lot of male skaters are gay, and they all are in touch with their feminine side. That’s why so many of them end up crying after they get their scores. Evan Lysacek was cried so much after his free skate, it was actually kinda awkward. But Johnny Weir dares to take it a step further, and *gasp* designs his own outfits, and *gasp* looks flamboyant, and suddenly the world is saying how skating needs manly men. NBC’s announcers were so obviously uncomfortable they’d give my conservative family members a run for their money in terms of awkwardness. Turns out some French language announcers in Canada put voice to that more explicitly than NBC’s idiots. Here’s a website detailing Weir’s response. (A transcript of one of the videos and some reactions can be found here. I love the control he shows in those clips, and that he’s willing to serve as a role model. And I adore him, absolutely adore him, for this quote:
“There’s a whole generation of people that aren’t defined by their sex or their race or by who they like to sleep with.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2010 1:24 pm


    That song kind of sums up my feelings on the matter. I really despise gender roles…which you already know, of course.

  2. March 4, 2010 8:51 pm

    Oh wow I love that song! Thanks for the link.

  3. March 5, 2010 1:42 am

    No problem. I had a feeling you’d like it, if you hadn’t already heard it before. =)

Leave a Reply

