Skip to content

Hayden Christensen can’t act

January 3, 2010

I got the Star Wars trilogy for Christmas this year.  Special Edition, ’cause I failed specify that I preferred the original, but whatev, I figured it’d be fine anyway.  Didn’t know they’d made one more horrid change since the VHS copy of the special edition Matt got ages ago.
You know at the end of Return of the Jedi, where you see Yoda, Obi-Wan, and Anakin as ghosts standing together?

IT’S HAYDEN CHRISTENSEN NOW!!!!

!!!!!!!!!!!

*disbelief*
*anger*

!!!!!!!!!

okay one more

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Yes, I know, I’m several years behind, but I haven’t watched the movie in ages, and I’ve never actually seen the DVD copy of that, I think.  No one told me that my least favorite actor in the ENTIRE WORLD makes an appearance in one of the best movies ever made!  WTF!  How could they do that?  He’s an idiot!  He has ONE EMOTION: teenage angst.  Hell, he looks angsty as a ghost.  What was wrong with the original scene?!?!  Why did they have to ruin it!  GAH!

*end rant*

Also, in the even that I am able to get over my anger at this development, there will be a Star Wars marathon at my place in the semi-near future.  Comment with opinions as to when if you have them.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 5:31 pm

    Han shot first.
    George Lucas is doing something very interesting in going back and actually changing the canon. His continual updating says something very interesting about artistic control and perhaps should make us even happier that we have the Internet and computers to store older versions instead of unreliable physical media. The weirdest thing about Star Wars, though, is that he’s messing with something so beloved and so established in our culture. I mean, it’s not like people don’t notice!

  2. January 4, 2010 8:28 pm

    Yep. My dad has a VHS-DVD converter, and I think I’m going to ask him to convert the original movies onto DVD for me. I have the original trilogy on VHS, the special edition trilogy on VHS, and the DVD trilogy with all the further changes. DVD trilogy definitely is the worst of them all, which upsets me because it’s likely to last the longest since VHS tapes fall apart so easy.
    Sigh. George Lucas is a very selfish person.

  3. January 5, 2010 1:02 am

    whaaaat?
    Why did they ruin the frikkin’ movie with Hayden “angsty!” Christensen???
    I was watching a Star Wars marathon over the holiday break, but didn’t catch the end of RotJ. Maybe for the best if they were showing that version.

  4. January 5, 2010 2:12 am

    I KNEW there was something different about that scene with Greedo…just didn’t know what it was. It’s been soon long since I watch the original that I don’t a lot of the changes, I’m just aware that it’s not quite right.
    Grr.

  5. January 5, 2010 2:16 am

    I need to check when I get home, but some of the DVD copies have the original original movie…maybe I have it and just don’t know.

Leave a Reply

