Skip to content

calling all Jews

November 25, 2009

Can someone help me out? Google seems to be failing me. There’s this Barenaked Ladies song on their holiday album I like, but I can’t find a translation of part of it. It may or may not be a tradiational song…I dunno. The song is called "Hanukkah Blessings". The lyrics I want a translation of:
Barukh Atah
ADONAI Elohaynu Melekh h’olom
asher kid’shanu b’mitzvotav v’tzivanu
l’hadlik nehr shel hannukah

Barukh atah ADONAI
Elohaynu Melekh ha’olom
She’asah neesim l’avotaynu
bayamim hahem ba’zman hazeh

If anyone could help me out that’d be awesome.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    November 26, 2009 7:52 pm

    translation
    Those two verses are traditional Hanukkah blessings.
    http://www.creop.org/circleoflight/hanukkah/blessings.htm
    They’re the first and third blessings–alternative spellings are probably why you had trouble googling ;)

  2. Anonymous permalink
    November 27, 2009 2:40 am

    translation
    I got excited when I saw this because I thought I might actually be able to use my Hebrew for once. Then I saw someone beat me to it! :P
    The translations on that site are accurate.
    ~Marcie

  3. November 27, 2009 8:52 pm

    Re: translation
    Oh no anonymous commenter, who are you??

  4. November 27, 2009 8:53 pm

    Re: translation
    Awww sorry. I’ll try to find more Hebrew I need translating to give you a chance…
    Dude I haven’t talked to you in ages. How are you?

  5. Anonymous permalink
    November 29, 2009 7:08 pm

    Re: translation
    Yeah it has been ages. I’ve been pretty good. If all goes well on my finals in about a week, I’ll be living on a Caribbean island for a year, so life will be even better. :)

  6. December 11, 2009 6:30 pm

    Re: translation
    Awesome! Yay for the Caribbean. That sounds so very much cooler than SoCal.

Leave a Reply

