Skip to content

lucky…

April 19, 2009

Well here’s a day that reminded me how lucky I am.  Article in Box Turtle Bulletin about a newspaper article that will likely lead to violence/murder against the queer community in Uganda, and then a post by Friendly Atheist of a video of five people being burned to death for being witches.
I don’t even know what to do with this information.  I feel so pointless, I guess.  That nothing I can do will change these facts, and I don’t even know where to begin trying to stop it from reoccuring.  It’s good that there are people like Erik in the world, who believe in the inherent goodness humanity, but these are two examples of why I do not.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2009 1:44 am

    I don’t think there is inherent goodness in humanity either and the older I get and the more people I meet the more sure I am about this. We aren’t any better than any other animal.

  2. May 26, 2009 8:22 pm

    I never said I believe in inherent goodness in humanity… I believe we have to MAKE our own goodness. But it’s both possible, and worth doing.

Leave a Reply

