Skip to content

what I remember

March 4, 2009

Ask me about my favorite memories of undergrad that aren’t social, and here’s the answer I’ll give.
When I was instrument room aide (not TA) for honors Ochem, I had a student named Anudeep.  He was a great kid, smart and enthusiastic, but not that great at ochem, so I had to give him a lot of help.  I happened to run into him right after he got his lab midterm back, and he came running up to me with a huge smile.
"Marie!  I was just going to go look for you.  I got an A!  I can’t believe it!  Thank you so much!"

I’ll always remember that.  Yes, I took some great classes.  Yes, I did some neat research.  But it’s Anudeep being excited about his grade that I remember so clearly.

I don’t understand the academic mentality that research is somehow of more value than teaching.  I don’t understand the pressure that I’m under to do research now and in the future, when I’m not that excited by it, at the expense of teaching, which is something I really love.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 2:00 am

    Ochem? Do you mean orgo?
    And you should talk to my friend, Ashley, who is in the same boat you are.

  2. March 5, 2009 10:14 pm

    Haha yes I mean orgo. Turns out U of M is the only school that calls it orgo.
    So Ashley just wants to teach too? I thought she was getting her masters or something…

  3. March 6, 2009 3:51 am

    No, Ashley wants to teach. She never was going to get a masters – always is for the PhD. I’m trying to figure out if you could be thinking about someone else, but I can’t think of anyone else, haha.
    I’ve never heard Ochem, lol. I know everywhere in Michigan calls it Orgo (MSU, Western..), and those of whom have taken it out of the grad students here all call it Orgo…and they’re from a variety of different places. Maybe just those of us who called it Orgo don’t go on to study it any further, lol, so they aren’t in your programs.

  4. March 6, 2009 4:11 am

    I’ve never heard it called ochem until I came here either

  5. March 6, 2009 4:41 pm

    That’s funny ’cause I always feel like more people call it ochem than orgo. You get ochem, achem, and pchem, and it makes a nice set. There’s never ichem though… dunno why.

Leave a Reply

