Skip to content

traditionalist?

January 27, 2009

Language like this really appeals to me:  "I grew up in Minnesota. Four generations of my father’s people are buried there."  (taken from this totally unrelated article: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/27/science/27agre.html?pagewanted=2)  For me, it’s just my dad’s generation on the one side, but on Mom’s side there’s probably seven or eight generations buried in Michigan.  We have family reunions that include cousins I didn’t even know I had.  There are houses scattered around the countryside with amazing amounts of family history.
Last night I passed this article around: http://www.nytimes.com/2009/01/27/opinion/27brooks.html?hp.  Now granted I think most institutions don’t deserve that kind of loyalty, there are some that do, very much so.  Gonna have a knock down fight with Erik about this at some point *grins in anticipation*.
Anyway gotta run to work.  The last dash in our poster is on!

Trying to decide if there’s a term for what I feel that is the theme of this article.  Conservative isn’t right.  Social conservative is even further from the truth, despite that term having an appropriate denotation.  Maybe traditionalist?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

