Skip to content

Year in Review

December 21, 2008

Apparently I didn’t do this last year.  I’m gonna do it this year ’cause I’m corny.

1.What did you do in 2008 that you’d never done before?

Had sex.  Found parts of Ca I enjoy.  Real grown up research.

2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more
for next year?

I think I sorta did.  I wanted to hate Ca less, and be happier.  I certainly tried very hard.  Dunno how successful I was at not hating this place, but I don’t know if that’s something I can win.  I just do my best.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Don’t think so.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Rosin.
Raph and Donny.
Uncle Tony.

5. What countries did you visit?

Just America.  Tried for Mexico a couple of times, but it never panned out.

6. What would you like to have in 2009 that you lacked in 2008?

Confidence in my ability to do research.

7. What date from 2008 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

July 12th.  We were there again tonight, on that overlook above Lake Elsinore.  I’ll always remember sitting there, and realizing that this was an amazing person I was sitting next to.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Passing cumes.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Losing track of to much, both things and people.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

I feel like I did…can’t remember what though.

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Theo!  Seems wrong to imply purchasing…but I did pay a fee.  Wait, did I?  Technically he’s still a foster I think, though the shelter has lost track of us.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?

Erik, for putting up with my insanity.
My UCI friends for not killing me for spending so much time with him.
Katie, Sara, and Yin, for being wonderful as always.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

Yes on 8 people.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Plane tickets and guinea pig bedding.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

I’ll second Katie’s vote for the election.
Getting to go home, each time I was home.
Passing cumes.

16. What song will always remind you of 2008?

That damn Katy Perry song, probably.  I liked it for about three seconds and it’s haunted me ever since.  Anything by Guster.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

i. happier or sadder? Happier
ii. thinner or fatter? ’bout the same.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer.  I’ve been good about saving.

18. What do you wish you’d done more of?

Homework/work.

19. What do you wish you’d done less of?

Being lazy/self-pitying.  It’s strange how often that’s the same thing.

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

With my family in Michigan, though it’ll be incomplete ’cause Adam will be with his girlfriend.

22. Did you fall in love in 2008?

:-D Yes.  Still blows my mind.

23. How many one-night stands?

Two halfs?

24. What was your favorite TV program?

Friends and West Wing.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?

Honestly, I like religions a lot less than I used to.  That’s prolly about it.

26. What was the best book you read?

Tanner’s TD -QM book…
Did I read any new fiction?  I must have, though I can’t remember what.  But I’m rereading LoTR now and that is, as always, the best.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Guster.  More country.

28. What did you want and get?

More happiness.  And yes, I got it.

30. What was your favorite film of this year?

Juno, I guess.  Or Dark Knight.

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

Turned 23.  Went to work, and then out to dinner, with gifts and cake and things through the day.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Feeling like research is something I can do.  I’ve been doing it for six months and I still feel incompetent.

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2008?

Fewer ties than last year…

34. What kept you sane?

My pigs.  And Erik for the second half of the year.

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Oh goodness, that implies that I watched enough tv to fancy someone.  Can I say Chandler frome Friends?  I did watch the whole series this year.  That should go in my "most proud accomplishments".

36. What political issue stirred you the most?

Obama and prop 8.

37. Who did you miss?

Ditto on Katie’s answer: everyone pre-grad school.

38. Who was the best new person you met?

:-D my boy.  Not that I don’t love the rest of the fantastic four, or all the other people I met, but y’all just don’t quite stack up.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2007:

IUD+alcohol=bad bad thing.
Dunno if I have something more profound.  It really is true that relationships come around when you stop looking for them.  And people are pretty damn amazing, if you wait long enough for the wonderful ones to come around.

40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

Dunno if I can come up with something that’s not incredibly sappy.  Also dunno why lj won’t let me turn off bold here.  This is what I get for using the wysiwyg editor instead of writing the tags myself.  I’ll plead the fifth and not answer this question.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

