Skip to content

coming out

November 19, 2008

It’s funny how coming out has changed in three years.  Once upon a time, telling anyone was a huge deal.  Telling my family was almost impossible.  It made me nervous to meet anyone who didn’t know, and have to figure out how to tell them and when to tell them and did they even know and why was I worrying so much.
Now, not so much.  When I moved here I figured it’d be easier just to always be out, so most of my friends here have always known.  Megan is the ringleader in a constant stream of jokes about me seducing girls and ‘converting’ people, jokes which always make me a tad nervous that someone listening might not know me well enough to know that I’m full of shit.  Then today I came to the interesting realization: I’m accidentally coming out to parts of my extended family via facebook.
I’ve always had a couple of cousins on facebook, on both sides of the family, but since the family reunion there has been a steady stream of relatives tracking me down and friending me.  Being the lazy facebooker that I am, I’ll accept the friend request and then promptly forget that that person even friended me.  Today my cousin Greg became the most recent add, and suddenly I realized that I was out to all these relatives.  Telling the extended family always seemed like a big idea, and something not to bother with until I had a really good reason to do so.  In the back of my mind I was always aware when around them that they didn’t know, but I see them so little that it never really mattered.
Turns out now that a portion of them know, with more stumbling upon it every day.
*laughs* then again, part of me is curious to see who misses it.  It’s not like my facebook says in giant letters "I LIKE GIRLS TOO".  I AM in a relationshp with a guy.  I wouldn’t put it past some of them to miss the prop 8 protest pics, the lgbt groups, and the "interested in: guys and girls".
To any of my relatives that have stumbled upon my lj via facebook: hello!  Glad to have you here.  Leave a comment if you end up a regular reader, just ’cause I like to have some idea who I’m writing to (Megan Elizabeth TROXEL).  Nice to have you about.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2008 9:43 pm

    have you ever dated a girl?

  2. Anonymous permalink
    November 19, 2008 11:34 pm

    Now was that really fair to call me out. There are others guilty of the same crime. Besides, you should be working on a coupled harmonic oscillator, not LJing. Geez. You’re such a slacker. :-P

  3. November 20, 2008 3:19 am

    Yay for it getting easier.
    Sigh. I didn’t do what I said I was going to do. I didn’t come out to more people like I was supposed to. I gotta work on that. Maybe I can just make a sign that says “NO, I do not want to talk about hot guys with you.”
    Managed to smoothly transition a discussion with my office mate about Brad Pitt to a discussion about my rats, today, though. I was proud of that.
    Anyway. Kudos on being okay with being out to like…everyone!

  4. November 20, 2008 9:23 pm

    Megan Elizabeth? What a lame name. Just sayin’.

  5. November 21, 2008 6:33 pm

    Wait Megan was joking? You aren’t trying to convert people? Hmm NEVER would have guessed :-P.

Leave a Reply

