Skip to content

morality

November 9, 2008

When the hell did morality get so fluid?
My mother voted for medicinal marijuana, for all things from the prospective of a cancer survivor.  She said that if she got sick again, and needed weed to ease her pain, then to hell with anyone who wanted to take that from her.  Yeah, it’ll probably mean more weed on the streets, which she thinks is wrong, but she figures there’s already so much of it there that cancer patients out to get their share.
Prop eight brings out the interesting moral question of just what do we teach our kids in schools.  I honestly don’t know if I think it’s right to force parents to have their children taught tolerance of gays in schools.
I do believe prop four was a moral idea.  Of course minors should have guidance when deciding to get an abortion.  Everyone ought to ask people they trust, as well as their own conscience, when making that choice.  I voted no because I think it puts an incredibly vulnerable (and lets face it, also not the smartest) portion of society at risk for making the really stupid choice of getting a back alley abortion.
Obama’s election means some wonderful things for this country, but my father also believes it could mean the end of his business.  Who acted in a more moral manner, me for voting for Obama and the change he stands for, or Dad for voting against in hopes of saving his job?  How could you ask Dad to vote in another manner?
Then there’s the cataylst for this ramble, Religulous.  Erik and I went to see it tonight, and are paused in the middle of a wonderful debate about the morality of imposing one’s faith on another.  I guess I should decompose that into the two types of morality I see there, the abosolute morality and the legal morality of imposing one’s faith on another.
I guess this is part of what your twenties are supposed to be about, though, figuring out what you believe and just how strongly you believe it.  It is a very basic question of democracy, to try to define what rights a person has even if they disagree with the rest of the world.  I really have no conclusions here at the moment, just rambling thoughts.  I guess I’d be curious to hear yours though.  I’m pretty darn sure of what is right in most cases, but the difference between what I believe and what I believe is acceptable to force on others is a tricky line.

Then again, I guess I defined it tonight in the car on the way home.  I’m pragmatic about legal morality.  If a law is passed, then it’s legally moral.  Doesn’t mean anyone shouldn’t stop trying to change it though, as long as they work from within the system.  And since the law and your parents are pretty much the only way you can be forced to believe something in America, I guess I do have an idea of what’s okay to force on others.

Still, it does keep debates interesting.  While no one socially can force you to believe something, they can sure make some pretty convincing arguments.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

