Skip to content

scavenger hunt

September 30, 2008

I love birding. It’s a life long scavenger hunt. I’m up to 93 species, if I’m able to add correctly. Got three while we were camping, and another one today at the mall. Any place I go, any new situation, I’m tempting to bring along a pile of bird books and my binoculars. New seasons mean I need to get down to Back Bay and see who’s migrating through. I love that I’ll get to keep doing this. Some day I’ll go on a hiking trip through the Rockies, and I’ll pack my bird books despite the weight, so that I can check off new birds. Some day I’ll be in Europe and go crazy stacking up dozens of new species. I still haven’t seen a bald eagle, and now am also on the lookout for a golden eagle. Magpies, tanagers, and shrikes are all awesome looking birds I’d love to see, and an albatross is a pipe dream. I daydream about managing to be in the right place to see the birds that get trapped in the eye of a hurricane, and lets face it who wouldn’t want to see a penguin in the wild?
*laughs* I don’t understand how not everyone has this hobby. It’s pretty dang cheap (thirty bucks’ll get you the two best guides), and something you can do wherever you go. Anyway I really ought to be in bed now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2008 8:24 pm

    Bald Eagle
    Well if we are ever back in Michigan at the same time during the summer come hang out around my house for awhile and I’ll find you a bald eagle. We have a couple of nests near us we used to go see but by the time I graduated high school we’d see them out fishing when we were on the lakes, eating roadkill while we were driving and just generally around without having to look for them.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    September 30, 2008 11:27 pm

    Re: Bald Eagle
    Omw I’m so jealous. I’ll have to get up there at some point. There’s one that runs around my county and the one to our west, but I’ve never managed to see it, and he’s a recent resident. Hopefully more will come.

Leave a Reply

