Skip to content

wait times

September 23, 2008

Please someone explain to me why it takes at least three weeks to get into the gynecologist to get birth control, but two days to get a regular eye checkup.  Shouldn’t it be the other way around?  I dunno why, but it drives me crazy how hard "women’s health care" is to get.  Reproductive health care ought to be fantastically easy, and cheap.  Insurance companies ought to pay you to get it, so that they don’t have to pay for pregnancies, and politicians ought to encourage it because then abortion becomes less common.  Give everyone a pill, or something more effective, and life is better.  I don’t understand why it’s so friggen hard.  Hooray for planned parenthood.  Gah.
*end rant*

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    September 23, 2008 11:51 pm

    possible explanation from Marcie
    The high cost of malpractice insurance for OB/GYNs discourages people from entering that specialty, leading to a shortage of those doctors and long waits for appointments.

  2. September 24, 2008 1:21 am

    Completely ridiculous
    Yeah its terrible here. In Michigan it was super easy and the Health Departments never let you slip through and get birth control without the exam. Even though I hated that I recognize that at least they were looking out for my well being. Here there are no health departments so I had to go to planned parenthood and I went two years with getting birth control and NO ONE questioned the fact that I didn’t have an exam. (oh yeah and this is also me telling you if you want birth control you can walk in and get it just expect an hour or more wait time) you just have to make an appointment if you get the annual.

  3. September 24, 2008 1:34 am

    PP is the way I go here. It’s usually not too long a delay to get an appointment. And strangely enough the doctors are really nice, I like them a lot ^_^;;

  4. September 24, 2008 8:02 pm

    Re: possible explanation from Marcie
    I was wondering if that might be the case. It makes sense, but still frustrates me that that is how it works.

  5. September 24, 2008 8:03 pm

    dude where have you been? Haven’t heard from you in ages.

  6. September 24, 2008 8:04 pm

    Re: Completely ridiculous
    Yeah I find it seriously sketchy that you can get birth control without the exam. As annoying as the exam is, it really is a good idea. Luckily I’m set for birth control for five years, though I will still go get the exam.

Leave a Reply

