Skip to content

Discovery

September 21, 2008

A physicist made a speech in the episode of West Wing I just watched. Good little speech. Coulda been written for the LHC (well actually it sorta was… a fictitious American copy) or going back to the moon, or my damn laser. It’s why I believe in science, even if I’m finding I don’t care so much about making science. It’s why most of those of us in it are where we are, I think.

ENLOW
If only we could only say what benefit this thing has, but no one’s been able to do that.

MILLGATE
That’s because great achievement has no road map. The X-ray’s pretty good. So is
penicillin. Neither were discovered with a practical objective in mind. I mean, when the
electron was discovered in 1897, it was useless. And now, we have an entire world run by
electronics. Haydn and Mozart never studied the classics. They couldn’t. They invented
them.

Of course, to be fair, they weren’t great on the science. At one point they said they were gonna get protons going at the speed of light. But I liked the thought.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 2:36 am

    yeh I know what you mean…but I do like the thought :)

Leave a Reply

