Skip to content

explain, please

September 18, 2008

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/09/18/opinion/18kristof.html?_r=1&em&oref=slogin
Someone (Yin?) please explain to me if there is any way to view these people as anything other than greedy selfish short-sighted individuals, and why I should not call them stupid.
$17,000 an hour?  After takes, that’s only slightly less than what I earn in a year.
Am I really supposed to believe talk that this is the best way to grow the economy?  That the trickle down affect will actually cause this to help me?  That I’m supposed to be grateful to the super-rich for creating jobs by their excessive consumption and for investing their money so that it grows more jobs and money?
I know, I’m an uneducated commie on this subject, but I still remain of the opinion that we tax the hell out of the rich.  And while we’re at it, we ought to somehow control the stupid rich that can cause so many economic problems by being greedy and short-sighted.

I’m actually willing to hear other opinions.  I don’t know that I’ll buy them, but I would like to hear any other views on these idiots.  I’ll do my best to keep an open mind.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 19, 2008 5:02 am

    I agree that we should control the stupid rich that cause problems but since I’m bored and you asked for opinions the reason I don’t think we should over tax the rich has nothing to do with money at all. I know they don’t need that much money but that doesn’t change the fact that they did probably do something to get there money. Except for the Paris Hiltons of the world, most worked for it.
    Now my reason for not over taxing really doesn’t have much to do with that either but has everything to do with the people who don’t work for it. If we tax the rich excessive amounts we can likely assume that the money would go into programs such as universal health care, welfare, college for poor kids (rather than hard working kids) and other things that support the less well off. However my discussion and experiences with man of the less well of have shown me that alot of them (granted there are exceptions to everything) are lazy. And that’s why I don’t want to overtax the rich to give to the poor. Some people are just so unmotivated they will live in less than wonderful conditions that don’t require them to put in any effort at all. The world can’t survive if people are unmotivated and sadly some people need the fear of starvation, no healthcare or living on the street to give them that motivation (the survival instinct does come in handy sometimes). I do think there needs to be more oversite in corporations I’m only talking about the “tax the hell out of the rich” part of the entry.
    I didn’t develop this sad outlook on life (that most people are lazy) until seeing how some of my parents “friends” (they were really just leaches) lived. And how they passed on their wonderful work ethic to their children who learned growing up that “neither mom and dad work yet we still can put food on the table and have electricity, and they get to sit home all day long and play video games.” By overtaxing the rich and not taxing the poor we just reward their laziness further.

  2. September 22, 2008 4:54 pm

    I understand and to some extent agree with you. Program that hand out free money tend to cause those problems. What I saw among similar families, though, is that a lot of the inherited laziness is also a lack of hope. These kids see that their parents have no options, and they are growing up into the same life, and don’t try for fear of failing, and because they don’t see any other options. They aren’t taught good values from their parents, and aren’t able to see a way out.
    Programs that I would support wouldn’t be handouts. After school programs to encourage grades, nutrition information coming with food stamps, welfare that demands applications be filled out and seminars about employment be attended, that sort of thing. (Pardon my sentence structure there…) Of course we can’t just keep throwing money at poor people, but I do think there are programs that work. The fact that poverty runs in families makes me think that if these kids were raised in other circumstances then they’d do well, so we ought to try and help them.

Leave a Reply

