Skip to content

comfortable

August 2, 2008

Yesterday afternoon an antisocial mood struck me. Despite invitations to a pile of social things this weekend, all I wanted to do was curl up in bed with a book. Alone. Last night I got talked into going down to the pub to hang with the physics kids and a couple chemist friends, and had a really good time, but that just made me more determined today to stay home. There’s a party going on right now that a bunch of my friends are at, and my boyfriend is at, and I’m home alone doing dishes and laundry.
The ironic thing is what I did earlier though. While I’m not feeling up to talking with a bunch of people who I’m getting to know and really like, I did go to a friend’s sister’s piano recital. There I saw her family and talked with all of them, and really enjoyed myself. Now, I do know this family, having spent Thanksgiving with them, but I haven’t seen them in months. We have almost nothing in common, and they’re hyper-religious. The physics kids are wonderful 20-somethings who share dorkiness, liberalness, and a-religiousity (for the most part) with me. But I don’t want to see the physicists.
Ah well. I’ve decided to do all my fun around the apartment things. Then later when I’m ready for bed, I’m gonna go to the party and see how fast I can get Erik to agree to leave. I should have friends take bets on this. I figure if I try hard it could be as little as five minutes, considering the fact that I just shaved my legs. But I’ll want to say hello to everyone, so maybe longer.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 4, 2008 5:25 pm

    Public note: I was at the party basically until everyone left… so I win the bet!

  2. August 4, 2008 7:51 pm

    Haha you have an lj? Love the user name…*laughs* Now I’m gonna go read old entries, which from teh looks of things are reallyyy old.

Leave a Reply

