Skip to content

Independence day

July 4, 2008

When in the course of Human events
It’s interesting. Last year I read this editorial written by a red-neck saying how we’ve forgotten the meaning of this holiday, and I thought the guy was a fool. This year I don’t so much agree. Talk is all of barbecuing, fireworks, and drinking. No pause to remember why it is we’re celebrating.
We hold these Truths to be Self Evident.
Then again, I guess I’m just as guilty. While I have thought about it today, I won’t say anything because it’d be awkward. Instead I’m privately thinking about it. Interestingly enough, as with many other things, my expression of this holiday came in the form of music. I got my violin out and played a few American songs. When all else fails, I turn to my violin.
We…solemnly publish and declare, that These United Colonies are, and of Right ought to be Free and Independent States.
I guess what I’m saying is, Happy Independence Day. Be thankful you are where you are. It’s a pretty damn awesome place to be. I’m off to be awkward at a physics bbq. <3

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 4:03 am

    Every truly American holiday is a drinking excuse. Think about it: Independence Day, Memorial Day, Labor Day…how do we celebrate these? Drinking and barbecues. Not that there’s anything wrong with that.
    And President’s Day and Columbus Day? We get cheap furniture. So we are cheap drinkers. Excellent.

Leave a Reply

