Skip to content

Fuck. This. Shit.

May 23, 2008

I really do over use ellipses.

I’d like to tell you about the place where I ate lunch.  It had white linen table clothes and elegantly folded napkins on the tables.  There were five pieces of silverware for each person.  After our meal the waiter brought out a dessert tray (full of delightfully sugar filled treats which I drooled over and did not order) instead of a dessert menu.  All in all, it was basically a really classy joint.
Now I’d like to tell you about the people there.  I was there with my boss and my friend/coworker Shawn, who hasn’t shaved in about three days (though that works for him surprisingly well).  Our waiter admitted to having only slept about thirty minutes the night before.  Around us everyone was wearing jeans and sweatshirts, and trying very hard to act like they had the table manners to be there.
Thus are academics.  But see, it’s the conversation that classes us up.  At my table we were discussing the finer details of a couple of proposed nonlinear optical experiments, as well as the delights of French food my adviser had gotten during his recent stay there.  Around us there were multiple foreign languages spoken, and at each table it was researchers, professors, and generally intellectual people discussing their work over a fine meal.
There’s the popular idea that great thoughts are thought in coffee shops; I disagree.  At least among scientists, it’s incongruous situations like this.  I’ve had two advisers take me out on their boat, along with other students, while we tried vainly to not look impressed by the phrase “Yacht Club”.  They take us out to dinners at nice restaurants, and serve us fantastic wine, all the while telling us about places they’ve traveled and research they’d like us to do.  We brush back our hair and suck down caffeine to keep up with them, all the while all too aware of our rumpled jeans and rather painfully empty minds, all in the hope that some day we’ll be the one serving the nice wine and laughing easily.

It’s amazing how much more self conscious I am of what I write when I think that there’s at least one UCI person who reads this.  How silly of me, because I’m sure that a lot of you laugh at my flights of fancy, even the ones I’ve known the longest.  Maybe especially the ones I’ve known the longest.  Anyway I leave you with three thoughts.  One: I’m going purse shopping today.  Voluntarily.  Dinner next week is gonna be fun.  Two:  http://xkcd.com/154/ and Three:  http://xkcd.com/137/
Now go read three again because I know you tuned out in the middle just like I did.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 25, 2008 3:54 am

    Don’t be self conscience of the UCI person who reads this. I hear she’s a pretty terrible writer (and therefore incapable of judging others) but just enjoys wasting time on the internet because she likes to procrastinate and hates stat mech with a fiery passion.

  2. May 25, 2008 8:10 am

    Hah thanks for that advice. I do my best to try not to be too self-conscious, and I think I’m doing alright. I did, afterall, just post an entire entry on hummingbirds. Just wait ’til I get all sugared up and the flights of fancy really start.

Leave a Reply

