Skip to content

Einstein

May 15, 2008

Yesterday two people told me about the Albert Einstein letter, the one where he’s rather critical of religion. I find it amusing the two people.
First Mormon Shawn read the headline to me when we were taking a study break. Have I told you guys about Mormon Shawn? He’s in my lab, as well as all my classes. We study together a lot, and hopefully this weekend will go sailing. He’s really nice intelligent and all that, but what stands about him is his convictions. He’s so very sure in what he believes, but yet not pushy about it.
Then Adam (grooveadam) dedicated a post to me linking the news article. Now most of y’all know Adam. He’s crazy. I think he counts as my oldest friend, because we went to school together from third grade until last year. Very opinionated, and will tell you you’re wrong. Very outspoken atheist. Someone to have a debate with, because it’ll be a fascinating discussion.
It’s just funny that these two people took interest in the same letter, and both wanted to tell me about it. Honestly, though. I claim Einstein and you two can’t have him. It seems to me that he was neither atheist nor theist. He’s agnostic, so he’s in my club. I think that’s all I have to say on the matter at the moment.

I’m knitting an afghan. As in the blanket, not a citizen of the country. ‘Cept Shawn’s right, it would be horribly rude of me to knit in class, which is very sad, because it’d be the perfect diversion in solid state.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2008 10:26 pm

    There’s no clear distinction between agnostic and atheist, at least in their colloquial definitions. What most people consider “agnostic” is simply “weak atheist.”
    Weak atheism seems to be the most logical choice, and one that Einstein most likely subscribed to.

  2. May 20, 2008 2:44 am

    How is there no clear distinction between agnostic and atheist? Atheist says that there is no divine. Agnostic says that one doesn’t know if there is a divine.

  3. June 10, 2008 7:48 am

    More subtle than that.
    No, atheists profess either a positive denial of the divine, or a lack of belief in the divine.
    Agnostics profess that it is impossible to know either way.

Leave a Reply

