Skip to content

dorks

May 9, 2008

West Wing is one of my favoritist shows ever. I love it. It makes me laugh, and I like to pretend it helps me understand government better.
I got a season of it in the mail today. (You all should know that for some inexplicable reason Windows Media player has it labeled as “Bellydance Surprise: Queen of Fruit” or something absurd like that.) One episode featured an amusing concept: allowing groups who don’t usually get time with the West Wing in to meet with senior staff for one day. The groups featured? A scientist (played by Ted from Scrubs) who wanted to make the White House aware of UFOs, and a group of three environmentalists who want to build a wolves only highway. Granted, they couldn’t put fringe religious groups or mock race relations this way, but the writers decided that it was alright to mock dorks. All you could think, watching these people, was “Of course you don’t get in to see staffers at the White House.”
This partially by way of being a reaction against the fact that I’ll be home in a month, and while I love my family dearly it does get tiring to have to deal with their views on intellectuals. Then again, I forget why, but I was thinking the other day that I probably am pretty damn elitist after all.
Why am I so depressed tonight? It ought to be a good day: got a lot of hw done, got kickass stuff in the mail, and in a bit I’m going out to the dollar theater with a couple of friends. At the same time, though, I’m just frustrated with everything.
I’m going to go read now, and listen to Dave Matthews, and honestly I’ll be dreaming of someone who I’ll never have. *laughs* Well, at least I can enjoy my foolishness.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 10, 2008 3:48 pm

    Environmentalists are dorks? Sure they can be freaky and cultish and weird and obsessive…but dorks? Maybe if they were environmental science students/professors/researchers…but if they’re just every day crazy-folk, I wouldn’t say “dork”.
    Of course, that is me being an elitist dork, myself. Not just anyone can be let into the club, you know.

Leave a Reply

