Skip to content

Busiest Bee

April 20, 2008

It’s a phenomenon Katie and I noticed in undergrad, the need to be the busiest bee. We talk ourselves into thinking we’re impossibly busy because we want to convince others of this fact. For some reason, we feel it validates us to be more busy than our peers. It doesn’t just apply to today, though. We have to be the busiest back in high school also, when we reminisce. Our memories become just as filled with things to do as our presents.
It happens here in grad school, though it’s easier to see why: people get mad at me for being less busy. I’m on a fellowship right now, so I don’t have to teach when about half of my friends do, and I’m learning which conversations to avoid, and how to make it sound like I’m further behind than I am. Last week, a miracle happened and Mormon Shawn got really ahead on a homework assignment (we’re chronic slackers), and I spent the whole week getting yelled at for it, despite the fact that I was ahead because I was going to spend the weekend with my dad and not doing homework. I just don’t understand it, though. Why do we feel like being busy is somehow better than having free time, when we simultaneously dream of the day when we’ll have less to do? We honestly look down on our peers who aren’t as busy, while envying lesser mortals who have chosen less demanding career paths and actually have time to go to the bar on the weekend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

