Skip to content

Tall

March 25, 2008

Tall Girls
Love that. Reading all those posts by other tall girls was really neat. Turns out there’s a lot of girls like me out there. Maybe I should get a pair of heels, just for the sake of turning heads.
It really is amazing the assumptions people make from height, and I’ll admit I’m guilty of it towards short people (tall people, being my height, tend to be ‘normal’ in my eyes). I can’t count how many times I’ve been told that I must be good at basketball and volleyball, even though I never grew into my length so I’m horribly uncoordinated. People love to tell me that I could be a model, as if my height changes the fact that my mouth is crooked, my hair is frizzy, and more importantly I’ve got way more going for me than just long legs. I guess it’s a good conversation starter, but man even at 22 I’m bored of explaining to people that I’m not interested in being an athlete or a model. Then there’s dating… luckily we’re out of high school, so no one says anymore “You can’t date him; he’s too short for you,” but people still think it. Guys are intimidated by it, especially as I’m also loud, smart, and competitive. You’d think it’d help me with girls…but seeing as how I don’t meet girls it’s not really an issue.
All that being said, I’m still attracted to my 6’7″ friend, in a large part because he’s seven inches taller. Like I said, I’m guilty of height prejudice too. O;-)
In other news, jeezeakurs I hate vowels. “Competitive” took me like six tries to spell right.

“I was a baby when I learned to suck, but you have raised it to an art form.” Man, I love BNL lyrics.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2008 4:36 am

    =^-^=
    I do not remember what I was going to say here.
    Oh wait .. it seems like somewhere I read something about tall people generally having a slightly greater tendency to be wildly successful or something.
    So you and your ginormously tall friend could have super-babies.
    Also, if you’ve ever watch Invader Zim you’ll notice that the tallest Invaders are the leaders. And they are addressed as “My Tallest”.

  2. March 26, 2008 5:25 am

    word word word.
    i’m not nearly as tall as you are, but i still experience some of this myself (“you could be a model/athlete!” yep, riiight, with my incredibly asymmetrical face and oafish, clumsy ways). i used to hate being tall but now i dig it and wouldn’t mind being even taller (why i wear my boooooots yessssss)
    and the vast majority of the time i still find myself attracted to taller men than myself… but 6’7?? WHOA DANG MAN how can he function? i know some guys who are 6’4 and they’re staggering…
    marie, WHERE CAN WE FIND THE TALL MEN? (note that i said men and not guys)

  3. March 26, 2008 5:46 pm

    My boyfriend is 6’6 and only weighs like, 160 pounds. Tall and tiny. He never played any sports either. We’re a very odd couple being as I’m only 5’3..5’4 on a good day.

  4. March 28, 2008 8:42 pm

    Not all “short” men and women want someone of similar height. I wouldn’t mind a taller girl, personally.

  5. March 28, 2008 8:43 pm

    This person makes a validvalid point, M.
    Nice touch with the ZIM.

  6. April 2, 2008 4:36 pm

    Haha yeah super tall babies…that could be fun. Did you know that some parents who are both tall have actually given their kids hormones so that they won’t grow quite so much and will be more average? Raises an interesting moral dilemma – a super tall kid will get teased horridly in school, but is it okay to change your kids because of something like that?

  7. April 2, 2008 4:38 pm

    The tall men are all out in California. There’s a couple here at six foot, one six four, and one six seven.
    And dear, coming from someone who appreciates feminine loveliness, asymmetric face, what? You look good.

  8. April 2, 2008 9:18 pm

    If they’re not teased because they’re tall, it’ll be because they’re overweight or slow or have acne or are bad at math or something else. That’s life. Besides, what if they do end up liking basketball a whole lot? =)

Leave a Reply

