Skip to content

What If?

March 23, 2008

I almost chose to become an orchestra teacher.  Today while practicing I thought about what my life would be like now if I had done that.
Assuming I managed to finish in four years, I’d be teaching now.  Most likely I’d be close to home, and therefore shivering in the latest snow.  I’d probably have more money, because even first year teachers make better money than grad students in SoCal.  I’d be figuring out the ins and outs of the real world, dealing with parents and administrators, and all that jazz.
I wouldn’t have spent so much time with my head in books, and instead would have been surrounded by music.  My critical thinking skills would be less, but the right side of my brain would be much more developed.  I would have had to transfer to Eastern, so I wouldn’t have the friends I do today.  I would hardly have known Katie and Yin and the rest of the squad gang, and would instead have a completely different set of friends.  I wouldn’t have the U of M name, but neither would I have the U of M ego.
I guess it’s sorta a pointless wonder, but it is curious to think what life would have been like if I had chosen differently.  The moral of the story?  I miss orchestra.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

