Skip to content

Train Travels

March 11, 2008

I’ve decided that travel by train is absolutely the best way to go.  Yes, it’s a lot slower than flying, but it’s infinitely more comfortable.  I wanna take a trip up to San Francisco at some point, and I think taking the train would be the best way.  The central California coast is beautiful, btw, and the train runs right along the ocean for miles up there.  It’s not California that I hate, just SoCal.  Made me think of moors, or of northern Colorado.  Absolutely desolate and enchanting.  Maybe I’ll just take a trip up there.

I gave Sara a hundred dollars for her mission work while I was up to visit.  I thought a lot about it before I did it.  Part of me doesn’t want to support her financially, because I don’t agree with the morals of her work.  I don’t think it’s right to hand help out with Bibles, even if it’s not coercive.  Thing is, what am I doing to help the needy?  She’s actually doing it, actually stopping her life to go to others and offer any help she can give.  I’m…studying.  Yeah, I give money away when I can, and I like to think that I’ll do volunteer work “someday, when I have time”.  Yeah, my research will hopefully benefit people, and I’m doing good by teaching I think.  Mostly, though, I’m selfishly continuing on with my life, aware that I’m darned lucky and yet not doing very much to change it.  It takes an amazing amount of bravery to actually get out there and do it, try to change the world, and I have to credit Sara with that.  So I wrote her a check.

Btw, to all of you figuring out what you’re doing with your life, think long and hard about it.  Don’t just do what everyone else does.  If you’re not sure about school, take time off.  Take a semester off in undergrad.  Take a year off before grad.  Don’t be afraid of what people will think of you, or of having no plan.  People are stupid, and not having a plan is the point.  The more people I talk to about school, the more I become a fan of dropping out and time off.  Figure out what you’re doing, and do what’s right for you.  This is not to say that school, or grad school, can’t be amazing.  Despite my recent depressing lj entries, I’m loving it.  It’s this place and my social life I’m unhappy with.  But I love it because I love school.  Not everyone is cut out for excessive schooling, and that’s not a bad thing.  The list of people in my life who should have taken time off, or have dropped out recently, or what not, is long.  We’re talking at least a half dozen.  Seriously, think before you opt for more school if you’re unhappy.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2008 1:38 am

    Hmm .. train. Now I want to take a long train trip and knit the whole time and look out windows. Oh, and sit so I’m going backwards. Thanks Marie!
    Speaking of, I don’t know if you’ve ever tried knitting or crocheting. I’m been making blankets for Project Linus (on my fifth and sixth), and it’s a great way to learn a new craft (with simple patterns), de-stress and also to feel like you’re helping the needy (a little kid!). Alternatively, if you use wool yarn you can send finished items to Afghans for Afghans and that way you’re working on a global level too.
    I like reading your LJ =)

  2. March 12, 2008 3:26 am

    Oh if only I had time for stuff like that. I do miss knitting. I’ve been thinking of starting a hand quilt, for a friend who’s always cold at night, but I’m afraid I wouldn’t have time to finish it until I get my next degree… I do love to knit. Made myself an afghan back in high school. I wanna learn to crochet at some point.
    Dude how come you never update your lj? Yours is fun to read too.

Leave a Reply

