Skip to content

Now that’s irony

February 28, 2008

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/02/29/world/africa/29gates.html?_r=1&oref=slogin
The Bush administration is warning Turkey that an offensive in Iraq could be “prolonged, bloody and — ultimately — ineffective.” Well, at least they learned, I spose.
In other news, does anyone else find it amusing that “office hours” is almost always a plural phrase, even though it’s usually only one hour at a go?

It’s nice to have your eccentricities understood. Last week I asked my quantum prof why normal modes are, well, normal, as opposed to eccentric and slightly odd, for example. Today I asked him why the word “moment” is used for moment of inertia. He laughed and said that I asked funny questions, and I explained why. See, if I don’t understand the name of a thing, often times I can’t get past the name to try to understand the thing itself. He nodded, and then went on to try very hard to come up with a good explanation as to where the word came from. (BTW, how come it’s not “explaInation?) No comment about my being crazy, just understanding that I needed help there.  I think it’s because he has the same level of eccentricities.  He says as many words with his hands as with his mouth when he’s thinking hard, which makes him interesting to watch.   I wonder what he’d be like if he learned sign language.

I’d also like to point out that I forget my lj password every time I try to post.  Yes, I am the awesome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2008 11:01 am

    hehe, your prof sounds awesome.
    Ross definitely gesticulates, even while typing an e-mail or paper ^^) I love watching him, it’s great. *squeezes her physics major*
    I just imagined Ralph Williams doing sign language 0_0 Now THAT would be a sight to see.

  2. March 3, 2008 7:02 pm

    Haha Ralph Williams sign language…omw wonderfulness.
    And you’re a dork for your bf comment.
    DUUUUUUDE get on AIM sometime! I haven’t talked to you in forrrreeeevvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeerrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr.

Leave a Reply

