Skip to content

Karen Blixen

January 26, 2008

This afternoon I watched “Out of Africa”, and discovered something interesting. It’s always been my favorite romance, and one of the few movies that makes me cry. The story is of two lovers, Karen and Denys, and their life on her farm in Africa. The interesting thing is the strength and independence of Karen. It takes place in the first half of the twentieth century and Karen is consistently implied to be acting unfeminine, and yet presses on, eventually gaining the respect of the men of Nairobi, where she lives.
I never thought twice about her before, but she really is a feminist character. I wonder if my mom meant for me to get that message from this movie when she introduced me to it.
As much as I like Karen, though, I have a lot of Denys in me also, I believe.

“I had a farm in Africa, at the foot of the Ngong hills.”
“I had a chance to see the world through God’s eyes, and I said, I see, this is the way it was supposed to be.”
“Sabou is bleeding, she does not have this ox. This lion is hungry, she does not have this ox. This wagon is heavy, it does not have this ox. God is happy, Sabou. He plays with us.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

