Skip to content

on faith

January 6, 2008

I don’t posses faith, but I do respect and admire those who do. I think, maybe that they’re not wrong either. I don’t think that they’re completely right, but I don’t know that I believe they’re wrong in having faith.
I don’t know what it is that I believe, but I do believe. I believe simply, in love, in the power we have to live with the world instead of in strife with it. I believe that things matter, that it’s not senseless or purposeless, even if there is no god to plan it all out for us. The purpose needs no god; purpose can be found simply in giving joy to another, or helping someone who is in need.
Faith in itself is a beautiful thing. It gives one a sense of purpose, a sense of belonging, and that is not bad even if the faith itself is in something false. Through faith some of the greatest acts of humanity have happened, and through faith some of the most consistent and far-reaching acts of charity are sustained each day. Faith teaches us to remember others, the world around us, and to think of ourselves after we think of others.

I watched “In God’s Name” tonight. It’s a CBS documentary about 12 religious leaders. Represented are: Catholics, Eastern Orthodox, Lutherans, Anglicans, Southern Baptists, Suni Muslims, Shia Muslims, Jews, Hindis, Shintos, Buddists, and Shiks. These people were beautiful and inspiring. The Hindi featured, Amma, is known as the hugging saint, and hugs as many as 50,000 people a day, as well as running a gigantic charitable organization that has donated millions (at least $24 million according to wikipedia) to various causes. The Jew, Yona Metzger, the cheif Rabbi of Israel, spoke of how in a meeting with a Muslim cleric they talked about how sharing each other’s humanity would make it impossible to hate each other. The Dali Lama, Tenzin Gyatso, professed respect of all religions, and spoke of how necessary it is to have different belief systems.The settings were amazing in their artistry. The people shown, both the religious leaders and others, reminded me strongly of family.

This isn’t very clear. It’s late and so I can’t seem to order my thoughts well. I just wanted to share. You can watch that documentary on CBS’s website. Meanwhile, it’s time to go to bed, and hope that my dreams tonight will be more peaceful than they were last night.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

