Skip to content

New Years

January 1, 2008

Spent New Years at Katie’s.  Now I want to go home even less.  At least I have my pigs when I get back.  Lotsa new movies to distract me.  I spose I’ll get over this feeling.  I’m gonna miss Michigan more than ever I think.
For the first time in many years, maybe ever, I’m making new years resolutions.  The first I’ve been thinking about (and actually working on) for a while, the second I realized during these past few days.  So resolution one: I will work on not saying negative things about people behind their backs.  I’ve gotten into a bad habit out west, and I’m giving into the office politics.  Gotta get out of that while I still can.  Resolution two: I will work harder on not hating California just because it’s not Michigan.  I’d be happier if I just accepted my new life, but being here at home has really thrown into focus how much I want to go back to undergrad.  It just takes time to make new friends.  I’ll figure it out, and until then I’m gonna be more lonely.
Anyway, I fly back to California tomorrow!  I see my pigs, and get to hear about everyone’s break and shush don’t tell my parents but at some point soon I’ll be cutting my hair short.  So onwards, to a quiz.

1)Was 2007 a good year for you?  Overall, yeah.  Ups and downs, some fantastic things like graduation and basically all of last semester.  The big long loneliness of leaving.  But mostly I’ve stayed happy, and stayed myself, and had lots of adventures along the way, so I’ll say it was good.

2) What was your favorite moment of the year? Graduation.  That whole morning was like a flashback of all of undergrad, seeing old friends, acting silly, having a blast with everyone.

3) What was your least favorite moment of the year? Breaking up with Darren.  Or the day I said goodbye to my brothers before I moved to California.  I was such a bitch to them because I was stressed, and I still feel guilty.

4) Where were you when 2007 began? Katie’s basement.

5) Who were you with? Katie, Marcie, Alica, Darren, Emily, I think that was the group.  Upon looking at the pictures, I don’t see Emily, so maybe she wasn’t there.

6) Where will you be when 2007 ends/ended? Katie’s basement, of course.  Here’s hoping I’ll be there next year too.

7) Who will you be with when 2007 ends/ended? Katie, Yin, Marcie, Erin, Emily, her bf, random friend of theirs, Kara, her bf.

8) Did you keep your new years resolution of 2007? Didn’t make any.

10) Did you fall in love in 2007? Just continued to be in love, but not that sort of love.

11) If yes, with who? With Michigan, my pigs, my friends and family.

12) If yes, do they know? It’s hard to talk to a state.  But I think I’ve told the rest how much they mean to me.

13) Are you still in love with them? Haha I love answering these questions not for romantic love.  More than ever.

14) Do you regret it? Never.

15) Did you breakup with anyone in 2007? Yeah.

16) Did you make any new friends in 2007? Bunches.

17) Who are your favorite new friends? Aaron, Nicole, Allison, Rebecca (and her family!), Megan J.

18) What was your favorite month of 2007? We’ll go with April.  Nothing like the stress of finals, the craziness of graduation, and the impending doom of goodbyes to make you value what you’ve got.

19) Did you travel outside of the US in 2007? Nah.

20) How many different states did you travel to in 2007? Lots!  Michigan, Ohio (I think…I usually go to Ohio anyway….maybe not) Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa, Nebraska, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, and CALIFORNIA!  So ten or eleven, depending on Ohio.

21) Did you lose anybody close to you in 2007? Not to death, no.

22) Did you miss anybody in the past year? See excessive amount of depressingness on being lonely in California.

23) What was your favorite movie that you saw in 2007? Pirates 3 prolly.

24) What was your favorite song from 2007? At the moment, that country one I heard about going home.  I’m sure there were others, but I dunno.

25) What was your favorite record from 2007? Dave and Tim Live at Radio City.

26) How many concerts did you see in 2007? 1

27) Did you have a favorite concert in 2007?  AHS Symphony orchestra!  Go maples!  *laughs*

28) Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2007? Ooooohhh yeah.

29) Did you do a lot of drugs in 2007? The usuals – caffeine, ibeprofin, things like that.

30) How many people did you sleep with in 2007? Zero, and I’m so glad for making that choice.

31) Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year? Yeah.  I was a bitch a few times over.

33) What was the worst lie someone told you in 2007? He didn’t say it, but he certainly acted like we were friends.  And then we werent’t

34) Did you treat somebody badly in 2007? Yeah.

35) Did somebody treat you badly in 2007? Yeah.  Still wish I knew why.

36) How much money did you spend in 2007? Not toooooo much, mostly on rent.

37) What was your proudest moment of 2007? Graduation.  Successfully leaving Michigan.

38) What was your most embarrassing moment of 2007? Uhhh…

39) If you could go back in time to any moment of 2007 and change something, what would it be? I’d tell Ashley I liked her.

40) What are your plans for 2008? Successfully finish my first year of grad school.  Maybe get a date.  Keep on keeping on; things have basically been great, despite the loneliness.

In other news, it’s snowing, and this is my last snow of the year.  I’m gonna go make tea and sit in the kitchen with a book to watch the snow fall.  Talk to ya next from sunny socal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 1, 2008 11:58 pm

    Happy New Year!
    I sent you something. Did you get it? (And, man, if I’d known Katie was going to be there, I would have sent hers to you as well. I couldn’t find her address.)

Leave a Reply

