Skip to content

Happy Thanksgiving

November 22, 2007

It’s so easy to be down today. I want to be home so much right now that whenever I think about it I feel like I’m gonna cry. I’m going to be positive, though, because I really am lucky. So here’s the absurdly long list of things I’m thankful for. A lot of these are things which I find fault with, so I’m reminding myself of the good things about them.
I’m thankful for my family. I wish I was home. For my friends from home – what would I ever do without you? For my new California friends, who promise to be amazing. I’m thankful for my forum friends. They’re totally supportive, hilarious, giving, and basically absolutely awesome. I’m very much thankful for Rebecca. Her family has opened their house to myself and another friend today, so that we can spend Thanksgiving with a family even if it isn’t our own.
My guinea pigs. They keep me sane when I’m homesick or stressed.
I’m thankful to be studying what I love in a beautiful place. That I have a steady paycheck, good health insurance, and good housing. I’m thankful that my lungs work most of the time. I’m thankful for the people who have challenged me in the last year, and taught me things about msyelf. I’m thankful for blue skies, lesbians, beach sand which really does get everywhere, cheap beer, maple trees, flannel pj pants, my computer working, and super glue.

It’s been a wonderful day, really. About as good as I can expect considering how homesick I am. Hasan got sick and couldn’t make it to Rebecca’s, which was really sad, but she picked me up at one and we went over to her place. Her grandparents and all her sisters were already there, and soon to arrive were her aunt, uncle, and their four kids. Eventually we got seated and ate a fantastic dinner. One wonderful thing about Thanksgiving is that the menu is standard. Their food tasted just like our food back in Michigan, despite the difference of a few thousand miles. We spent the afternoon and well into the evening eating dinner, dessert, seconds, and doing a jigsaw puzzle and just sitting around and talking. It felt very much like home. Eventually I decided I ought to head back. We dished up a plate of food to take home to Hasan, which he received with much thanks a little while ago. Now I’m gonna hang about with the pigs for a bit, and then go to bed early.
The beautiful thing about this day is how much people reach out. It’s so much more apparent in grad school than in undergrad, because so many of us can’t go home. Everyone had someone at Thanksgiving “Who just didn’t have somewhere to go.” Families opened up their houses, and friends braved their cooking fears to cook for other friends. It seems universally decided that no one ought to be alone today. I feel guilty that some of my friends were alone, because they didn’t know Rebecca well so I didn’t feel comfortable inviting them. Most of us, though, found places to go and spent the day with people who care. It really is a wonderful holiday.
Of course, it might be neat how people reach out, but next year I very much plan on going home for it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

