Skip to content

Attitude

November 18, 2007

I look around me and I see people who are miserable and unable to complete their work. They allow the workload to weigh them down, and that makes them loose sight of the goal, the whole reason we’re here at school. The amount we’re expected to do is large, to be sure, but if you’re happy and see the point to what you’re doing it’s so very bearable. Everything I’m studying seems applicable to my future work in one way or another, and so I don’t mind at all staying up late and spending all my time doing homework. My only regret is that it takes me so long to learn everything, because there is so much I want to learn.
It’s hard, though, to keep a good attitude when everyone is so miserable. This I think is my current challenge.
I also love Mrs. Barto’s trick of erasing the first sentence of your essay. Why is it that every sentence I write is crap? (No contradictions, please. It’s a rhetorical question.)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2007 2:35 am

    I’m now very curious as to what the first sentence of this LJ post was.

  2. November 19, 2007 3:44 am

    I don’t remember, but it was crap. Mrs. Barto was my 12th grade English teacher. We always had problems starting essays, because you want that first sentence to be really good. Her advice was to just start writing. Your first sentence will suck, so when you finish go back and erase it. Most of the time your first paragraph still makes perfect sense and now doesn’t sound as stupid.

  3. November 19, 2007 10:48 am

    Hah! I did that tonight while writing my Slavic essay. It’s 6am, I’m aaalmost done. But yeah, it’s true, starting is a b**** and I always end up deleting the first sentence or two.

Leave a Reply

