Skip to content

lonely

November 6, 2007

It’s probably not the smartest thing to watch the last episode of Friends (hey, I’m allowed to be a sap sometimes) on a night when I’m moody, but it turned out okay. Every negative emotion swings to homesickness, and that happened again tonight. All I wanted was someone to talk to, or someone to come give me a hug. I went through the list of who I could invite over, but none of them were right. No one would say the right things, and no one knew that most of the time I just need a hug and I’ll be alright. No one here was good enough. I wanted friends from home, or no one.
Somehow, that made it easier. I’ve met some wonderful people out here, to be sure (really guys, I love you all, and after announcing Saturday night that I talk about you on here I wouldn’t be surprised if some of you read this now). I think that some of them could become really great friends, people that I could depend upon and love the way I feel about my friends from home. Thing is, they’re not right now. No one here is as amazing as my Michigan friends.
You know, I don’t remember you people from home being so weird when I met you. I guess time must have worn you familiar, because when I think about it you really are odd people. Everyone here seems like a character from a book or something, too excessive to be real. I guess you used to seem like that, but then I got to know you.
Anyway I’m talking myself into this mood too much. I’ve found a distraction, so I’d better get back to homework. I promise I’m fine. I just miss you all a lot.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2007 1:50 pm

    =)
    I think our first conversation was more of a revelation into how we were the same kind of weird.
    But yeah, it is taking me time as well to get used to people out here. I keep missing home. It’s getting worse. The other day I was in a Best Buy, and somehow in the 5 minutes I was in the store managed to forget I was on Long Island (as I had never been to a best buy on LI before but have plenty of times in Michigan), and walked out of the store with my head just thinking I was in Ann Arbor.
    Then I got completely floored when I looked at the different parking lot and almost started crying.

  2. November 6, 2007 7:41 pm

    I think you called me weird rather frequently…lol :)
    You got to watch me progress from being a shy, timid, socially inept freshman, to an outspoken grouchy old man graduate.
    I, personally, would revel in the feelings of remembering home and the people I knew. You have stories to tell people now. :) I like nostalgia. lol, makes me think I’ve done a lot so far. :)

  3. November 6, 2007 9:13 pm

    You know, that’s a good take on being homesick. I’ll have to try to look at it that way. I do have some pretty fantastic stories to tell, after knowing all of you crazy people.

  4. November 6, 2007 9:15 pm

    Yeah. I don’t understand why it’s so hard sometimes. Oi *laughs* If I go into this anymore it’ll make the day really hard. I’ve still got a zillion things to do before I go home for the day – no time to be moping around.

  5. November 7, 2007 7:35 am

    Yeah.
    That first year is tough. Just……hang in there, okay? (i’m sorry for everything)

Leave a Reply

