Skip to content

small town ignorance

October 16, 2007

You hear a lot about small towns and how ignorant their people are.  People speak so derisively of how people from small towns are all the same and don’t know anything about the rest of the world.
Yeah, it’s probably true, but stop assuming that I’m ignorant on purpose.  The facts that I don’t know a lot about the rest of the world and that I’m related to a third of my home town do not mean that I don’t want to know anything else.  I’m happy to be small town, but I really do want to know about people who are different.  Heck, I get in to all sorts of funny conversations with friends from different backgrounds where I ask questions that they find a little awkward to answer just because I want to know how different they are and what that means.
I admit, it’s really easy in a small town to develop the attitude that your way is the best way , but don’t tell me that it’s more common in a small town than among big city folk.  How many times has it been implied that I’m somehow inferior because I don’t like a lot of exotic food?  That for some reason my inability to eat spicy food makes me less worthy or something.
I guess what I’m trying to say (and it’s not coming out clearly because I’m in class and ought to be paying attention) is that there’s a difference between willful-ignorance and ignorance born out of a lack of opportunity to learn.  The former attitude isn’t limited to small towns.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2007 1:00 am

    Yeah, it is pretty amazing how people assume things without taking a look at themselves.
    The food thing is pretty obnoxious. It isn’t like we haven’t tried exotic foods when we were given the chance…but when you aren’t raised on them, the odds of you liking them are much slimmer. It’s no longer mock-able if you have tried…at least, it shouldn’t be.
    On the West Coast when I visited schools I felt that a lot though – the food thing. Weird…but apparently true…
    Out East it is a teensy bit better, though people just get weirded out that I don’t enjoy eating shellfish.

  2. October 21, 2007 7:52 pm

    high-fives for small-town-ness.
    but why are you unable to eat spicy foods? the grasshopper was right downtown.

  3. October 22, 2007 6:20 am

    *laughs* Well I only ate there once….
    My parents are hopelessly American in their tastes. Mom won’t even eat Americanized Chinese food. So I didn’t branch out much as a kid.

  4. October 22, 2007 6:27 pm

    Oy! I got started on spicy by going to an Indian restaurant. Order mild. ORDER MILD. *giggles*
    Also, it looks like I won’t be hanging with you any time soon. See journal for details.

  5. October 23, 2007 1:00 am

    hehe yeah I’ve had Indian once…and it was definitely not mild. Need to try it again sometime…
    Yeah I saw that on your lj. That sucks. *hugs* sorry he turned out to be a jerk.

Leave a Reply

