Skip to content

idealism

September 28, 2007

Lots of idealism in my life lately. Renee, the girl who ran our “Learn how to teach” workshops was amazing and inspiring. An article I read today about affirmative action made me realize that I’ll probably never manage to be separated from culture of schools. Now I’m talking with Katie about what jobs she might have rather than becoming a boring researching PhD.
It’s all sort of coming together and making me realize that I really really don’t want to be that either. As much as I love Ann Arbor, I’ll never be motivated enough to get a job as a prof at U of M, and I don’t want that job anyway. I want to interact with students. No, that’s wrong. I want the chance to inspire students, as well as just plain figuring out how to get them to want to learn. I don’t want to have a ‘teaching’ job that’s really all about getting famous as a researcher; as much as I love chemistry and can see myself becoming obsessed with my specialty, I’m just not that into research. I like teaching people, and I want a chance to do it well and often. Renee talked about wanting to teach at a community college, what a new idea! I’ve never really considered teaching anywhere that wasn’t a four year reasonably prestigious institution…because that’s where all my education and experience is. It’d be cool to teach somewhere small, especially if it gave me a chance to work with disadvantaged or non-traditional students. I don’t like upper middle class white kids very much, as a general rule. Maybe I should email Renee, and find out what sort of opportunities there are for that sort of job, and what kind of training I can get for that here. I know we have a duel masters for teaching, though I do want my PhD and to research and all that. I wonder if I can just take classes about teaching while getting my ChaMP PhD. Hrm. What I ought to be doing is emailing profs, taking care of money matters, and reading text books.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2007 2:47 am

    You’d be great at teaching, too, I bet =D

  2. September 29, 2007 9:01 am

    :-) Thanks.

Leave a Reply

