Skip to content

Interesting quote

September 25, 2007

“A Nation that makes a great distinction between its scholars and its warriors will have its thinking done by cowards and its fighting done by fools.” – Thucydides
Found that interesting and thought provoking. Any thoughts?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 26, 2007 5:03 am

    I just saw that somewhere.

  2. September 26, 2007 7:17 am

    Newsweek. I’ve got a subscription now for good bathroom reading.

  3. September 27, 2007 1:08 am

    But I don’t believe that’s true.
    Even the greek had leaders and soldiers.
    We aren’t created equal, some are more intelligent than others. And some can pick me up and throw me.
    It’s very obvious to me that fighters are fighters. politicians are politicians. Cheney proved he shouldn’t be in charge of a gun once before, I don’t think we should look for a repeat.

  4. September 27, 2007 1:51 am

    Greek leaders were very often drawn from the ranks of the soldiers as far as I remember from Great Books. I think it’s an interesting point, though. So many in our armed forces are drawn from the poorest and least educated parts of America. Conversely, our colleges and universities are becoming more isolated from the military because of politics, and are losing the perspective of a soldier. I’m not saying all academics should be soldiers or vice verse, but I think an exchange of roles by some is probably a very important thing. Then again, I think there are a lot of places where we could benefit from spending time in someone else’s shoes.

  5. September 27, 2007 3:06 am

    Colleges have always been safe havens from war.
    There is no draft right now, people choose what they see themselves doing.

  6. September 27, 2007 3:12 am

    And some of us aren’t even able to help if we wanted to.
    I, myself, do not want to fight.
    I’d be terrified.
    But I wouldn’t oppose helping in intelligence.
    Even in the military there are the people who do the fighting, and the people who do the thinking.
    There are pharmacists too, I worked with a female pharmacist who had a husband in the service, he was also a pharmacist, ranked Lieutenant.
    But I can’t.
    Don’t ask, don’t tell still exists.
    They did an exposé last year on intelligence officials and officers being discharged because of their homosexuality.

Leave a Reply

