Skip to content

Ironic

August 18, 2007

Life is a fascinating ride.

Yesterday I got out of lab early and rode my bike down to the beach to meet some friends. On the ride home I experienced the most amazing thing. I rounded the top of the ridge between my place and the ocean, sweaty and tired in after the long but satisfying climb. Off to my left was a brilliant orange glow from the sun which was hidden behind the trees. Behind me I could see the ocean and a beautiful crescent moon in the darkening sky, and straight in front of me was spread out a beautiful view of mountains in the mist. I began the descent thinking that God just might exist.

If I could wish for anything right now, I think I’d transport Katie and I to Ann Arbor for the day. We’d make brownies and talk about everything. She’d smack me for being such a fool, and help me figure out what to do, and then we’d talk about her and Yin which is always more fun anyway.

You know, Jessica, it’s really weird that you updated your lj with thoughts that echo a lot of what I’ve been feeling lately. The other day someone brought up Jabberwocky, and because we’re all chem dorks I brought out that book you sent me and shared Chemowocky. I’ve missed you a lot, lately, and I’m not really sure why.

But yeah, yesterday was a fun day. Math class in the morning, then a lunch lecture from Professor Ge, who’s research is really awesome. Then a quick stop into lab before getting on my bike and going to the beach. Have I told y’all about the ride to the beach? It’s about five miles to the coast up Newport Coast drive. The first three are one long climb which kicks your ass in the most wonderful manner. Then it’s a wild descent with the ocean in your view and the wind so wild you eyes water and you end up right in Crystal Cove State Park. Turning left on PCH takes you to Laguna Beach, and turning right, like I did last night, goes to Corona Del Mar, which is also an awesome place to swim. I met up with both Megan’s and Jordan there, and we hung out on the beach until seven or so, which was just wonderful. I want to go swimming again… though I don’t have time today. Maybe tomorrow.

Almost as good as getting helpful advice is knowing that you’re not alone in your stupidity.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2007 4:50 am

    Just Do It.
    Well, maybe “It” is too general.

  2. August 19, 2007 6:49 am

    Re: Just Do It.
    *laughs* Yeah, just a touch too general…

  3. August 19, 2007 10:38 pm

    I will call you! For real, and not to ask you questions about a vacuum!
    But…later! Promise! We’re cleaning the house in Ann Arbor right now. Like CRAZY. And yeah, lots of parents shouting lots of orders and I just escaped up to my room for a second to check if my stony brook email works yet (negative on that one) and now I’m feeling guilty to I gotta run!

  4. August 20, 2007 2:01 am

    Re: Just Do It.
    It’s a sign from God.
    “Final Countdown” just came on as I was reading your comment.
    Yep…
    When will “then” be “now”? Soon.

  5. August 20, 2007 2:02 am

    Be a baller.
    Dyson’s “The Ball.”
    No further questions, your Honor.

  6. August 20, 2007 3:35 pm

    Hah no I understand. Life has to be crazy there. I’m sure we’ll find time to talk soon.

  7. August 24, 2007 7:46 pm

    Hi Marie. I hope you are doing well. I’m still up to the same tricks.

Leave a Reply

