Skip to content

“I do not miss the future”

April 15, 2007

(I’m sure I’ve posted this before, but I’m posting this part again because)

From “There Are Things I Tell To No One” by Galway Kinnell

…In this spirit
and from this spirit, I have learned to speak
of these things, which once I brooded on in silence,
these wishes to live
and to die
in gratefulness, if in no other virtue.

For when the music sounds,
sometimes, late at night, its faint
clear breath blowing
through the thinning walls of the darkness,
I do not feel sad, I do not miss the future or need to be comforted.

Yes, I want to live forever.
I am like everyone, But when I hear
that breath coming through the walls,
grace-notes blown
out of the wormed-out bones,
music that their memory of blood
plucks from the straitened arteries,
that the hard cock and soaked cunt
caressed from each other
in the holy days of their vanity,
that the two hearts drummed
out of their ribs together,
the hearts that know everything (and even
the little knowledge they can leave
stays, to be the light of this house),

then it is not so difficult
to go out, to turn and face
the spaces which gather into one sound, I know now, the singing
of mortal lives, waves of spent existence
which flow toward, and toward, and on which we flow
and grow drowsy and become fearless again.

This was brought to mind by a song the Glee Club sang tonight which happened to echo an earlier line to this poem.  The song was haunting in it’s simplicity and arrangement.  The text was found by the Allies during WWII, and is attributed to someone hiding from the Gestapo.  The text is:

I believe in the sun, even when it is not shining.
I believe in love, even when feeling it not.
I believe in God, even when God is silent.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

