Skip to content

Get get get get get over it

February 2, 2007

Synopsis: Senator Biden announced his bid for the democratic presidential nomination, and said of Barak Obama (One of the main contenders, and a black person, for those of you who are living under a rock) that he is “the first mainstream African-American who is articulate and bright and clean and a nice-looking guy”. Blacks across the country are now throwing a fit.
THAT’s a perfect example of why I favor a certain level of un-PC-ness. Yes, Biden pointed out that Obama is black. Yes he also pointed out that Obama isn’t like a lot of other candidates out there, nor is he like your average black American. These things are true, aren’t they? So what’s the problem? Race shouldn’t be so darn sacrosanct that whites aren’t even allowed to notice it if they want a political career. You wanna know who was insulted by Biden’s statement? Not Obama. Seems to me if he doesn’t care, the rest of the world should shut up and get on with their lives.
Notable quotables:
“I didn’t take it personally and I don’t think he intended to offend.” – Obama
“I told [Biden] I take a bath every day,” Sharpton
AHHHHHHHHH
In other news, what’s more PC: black, or African-American?
Let’s have Obama make a similarly structured comment about whites, and see who gives a damn. Everyone go download “Everone’s a little bit racist” by Avenue Q.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2007 3:08 pm

    I tend to use the term African-American. I’m not sure why but I feel almost uncomfortable saying ‘black’, it’s weird!

  2. February 2, 2007 3:20 pm

    I say black pretty often.
    But I’m also an unrefined heathen!
    “What? Are you saying we ALL LOOK THE SAME TO YOU?!” Hehe I love that song.

  3. February 2, 2007 7:30 pm

    African-American is more PC, but most black people I know wouldn’t care at all that I just used the un-PC one.
    It kind of sucks that as a white person you aren’t allowed to feel offended at all racially. If there is insistance on the term “African-American” there needs to be insistance on the term “Euro-American”. Let’s face it, white has a lot of connotations behind it racially as well, a lot of which I feel uncomfortable about when they are brought up.
    Sure, African-American people have had more suffering, and the term “black” has ties with that, ties that some people want to disestablish. Fine.
    But PC should not be “fix issues of the past by giving special things to people now” and should mean what it is supposed to – “Let’s not use terms or the like that people could find offensive”.
    Next time I’m filling out a survey that reads “Check one – African American – Asian American – White (or Caucasian – what the hell does that mean anyway? It doesn’t imply heritage…)”, I’m totally writing in Euro-American.

  4. February 7, 2007 12:57 am

    Yeah, it’s like that. F— PC.
    It’s actually gets a bit annoying for me, as a non-white person.
    Every time a black person talks about “diversity issues,” they’re talking about black issues.
    Then, every once in a while, when this is pointed out for the third time, it becomes “blacks (and other minorities)”. Umm… what? Did I just become an honorary black person for 15 seconds just so you can slap “minority” or “diversity” buzzwords on black-centric issues? Ummm.. no thanks, dude. Stop lying to my face. Affirmative action doesn’t apply to me, dipshit.

  5. February 7, 2007 4:42 am

    Re: Yeah, it’s like that. F— PC.
    hehe I liked the ‘dipshit’ bit bestest. Though ‘honorary black person’ was a close second.
    I’d have a serious reply…but it’d just be repetitive.

Leave a Reply

