Skip to content

interesting read

December 30, 2006

http://www.nytimes.com/2006/12/24/magazine/24princess.t.html?pagewanted=1&ei=5087&em&en=e69e380755672e54&ex=1167627600
I found that an interesting read. Said a lot about why I detest pink, (and why I may end up not being a purple fan before too long either – somewhere along the line people started thinking that made me girly. Ugh) and why I’m so big on equality. I don’t like boxes. But yes. Mostly this is just angst that requires a talk with the boyfriend next time he tells me I should look pretty more often.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2006 6:14 pm

    Talk about newspeak: “Girl Power” has gone from a riot grrrrl anthem to “I Am Woman, Watch Me Shop.”
    Hahaha!
    Okay, sorry, I’ve been in an anti-shopping mood for days now (when am I not?), since I’ve been to the Mall FOUR TIMES this week, and I’m about to make it a fifth time today. And that doesn’t include other stores not in the mall.
    *grits teeth and bangs head into wall*
    That is one female pastime that I will never, ever understand.
    But yeah, pink. Don’t get that one either. All I’ve gotten is that I’ve been pushed away from pink, since it only symbolizes girliness…something I for some reason really really hate, while most girls love.
    I think it’s because pink is like, a weak color, and all “pretty and dainty” when in pastels, and when it gets to be “hot pink” it SEEMS stronger, but really it’s just transferred into a sex symbol. Delicate and dainty don’t really describe how I want to be seen. Hence the lack of flowers and such in my clothes choices. Neither does “hot and sexy”. Hence why I don’t wear lacy black, either. *looks around for people to explain why they choose to wear pink, because there must be some other reason*
    I feel your frustration. I suppose this world and way of thinking works better for people that fit into the boxes they are put in, or at least are closer to those. But it kind of sucks for the rest of us.

  2. December 31, 2006 6:23 am

    I like pink. And I like playing barbies with my younger sisters when I come home. Hell I played with barbies until I was probably 13 and I’m about to graduate with a degree in Technical Communications/Writing and go on to grad school. I guess I just like to think that girls are smarter than that. That playing with pink, sparkled dolls won’t brainwash them into thinking that they have to be princesses.

  3. December 31, 2006 7:32 am

    It’s not that pink can’t work. It’s that it doesn’t work for some people. Some girls get trapped.
    It’s also that so many people make assumptions about girls liking girly stuff. Of course, it goes both ways, with boys getting opposite messages. But yes, I am dead tired of being told that because I am female I like pink and like to shop and like sappy movies. Heck, my boyfriend inflicts the worst sorts of romantic drivel on me because “girls like that stuff”. Bah.
    This is more disjointed of a reply than I meant it to be.

  4. December 31, 2006 7:36 am

    Yeah Darren and my Mom both lately have said things to the effect of my like of purple making me girly. Ugh. I used to really like that color, but it’s getting tainted with pink, and I’m liking it less and less with time.
    What really sucks about boxes, imho, is that people think that they exist. I’ve met no one, so far, that really fits well into many boxes. Everything is an approximation, so why some people try so very hard to shove the rest of us into boxes that are too small is beyond me. Life comes with error bars. That’s gonna end up a new catchphrase of mine.

Leave a Reply

