Skip to content

concert

June 7, 2006

CONCERT! Last night! Awesome!
Okay I’ll try for more complete sentences.

We were running really late because traffic sucked. Construction everywhere, that sort of thing. So we showed up at Pine Knob at seven when the show started at seven. Thank goodness for openers. We being myself, Callie, her sister Torre, and Torre’s husband Brian who is in Warehouse. This is a key point. Warehouse is the dmb fan club. Warehouse = good tickets. He and Torre got 14th row seats down in the auditorium. Callie and I were on the lawn, but in the Warehouse section of the lawn. This’ll come into play later when we go to find our seats.
So yes we show up late and get in line to get in. They had to check our pockets and run metal detectors over us, and no glass in the theater – crazy. Then we got inside the big entrance gate to see a hill.
Callie and I decided to go see the theater first, and then get tshirts and stuff, so up the steps we went. I counted, but lost track halfway up. We get up there and whoa people, little bit of lawn, seats, stage, opener playing. Went back downstairs and got tshirts and then tried to find pop. Found many, many, many places that sold alcohol. You’d think we were the only people under 21 there. FINALLY back in a corner we managed Dr. Pepper and pretzels, which was quite yummy. So back up the hill. On the way up I counted 42 steps. At the top we looked about and found the roped off seating we were supposed to be in. Shuffling our bags, pops, and pretzels around, we found our tickets and prepared to walk over the 4,358,359 people between us and the seating we wanted. Only to find we needed wristbands. Even though our tickets clearly said “Warehouse” on them, we had to go to some black tent by the gate to get a wristband.
So back down the hill again. 53 steps this time. At the bottom someone called us lesbians. Managed to locate the black tent and get our shiny magenta wristbands without dropping pop, bag, or pretzel. Back up the steps. Callie and I both counted, and both got 53, so I think that’s how many there actually are. Back through the now 5,397,928 people between us and the Warehouse seating, and got in. A loverly spot, dead center to the stage, in the front of the lawn, which put us right in the middle of the theater. By now it was around eight.
This is long. I should do a cut.
Sat down and made ourselves comfortable, then watched as the ropes came down. See, Warehouse gets preferred CHOICE, but lawn seats are lawn seats, so the ropes came down and suddenly we were as packed as the rest of the lawn. Managed to retain our spots though, so all was well. Suddenly a cheer went up from the crowd!
It was a maintenance guy or something.
Another cheer! THIS time it was the band. :-D
Setlist for the show:
Satellite
JTR
Pig
Where Are You Going
Hunger For The Great Light
Everyday
Bartender
Grey Street
Grace Is Gone
Kill The King [Live Debut]
Raven
Tripping Billies
The Idea Of You [New Song]
Crash
Louisiana Bayou
__________________

Sister
Dreaming Tree
Ants Marching
In other words, amazing. I don’t know how much I can say about the music without sounding dumb. It was freaking amazing. I loved every second of it. They played “Tripping Billies”. What the heck does it mean to trip a billy? “Kill the King”, that was special, as it’d never been played for anyone before. “Pig” is wonderful. “Everyday” was really cool; they started repeating the lines “pick me up love/ lift me up love/ pick me up love/ everyday” in counterpoint with “honey honey/ come and dance with me” from “#36”. Callie and I discovered that you can indeed dance to dmb, though you really have to be there to do so.
Really early on I bumped into the guy next to me, and smiled at him. He was very cute. He was also very drunk. He was also probably high. Shouldn’t’ve smiled at him, because at least some men are pigs. Did you know that it’s possible to be drunk enough to think that you can freak dance to Dave? Kept pushing him away, he kept coming back. Took like an hour for him to get the hint that he’s just not that hot. Boys suck sometimes. I thought about offering to puke on him, as I’ve been sick so much recently, and Callie and I joked about cuddling to see if that’d get him to go away.
But yes, show. Even idiot drunk boy couldn’t put a damper on seeing Dave live. It was like being high. Then again, there was a lot of weed being smoked around me. But still. When the pictures get up on the website I’ll post a link. You know how I love hands? Dave has amazing hands. You look at his hands strumming his guitar and you can tell he can write that music.
Boyd Tinsley rocks my socks off. He plays violin for the band, and he’s amazing. Classically trained, tall, with dreads, he rocked more than the drummer, which is saying something for a violinist. His solos were fantabulous, and he had rainbows on his back pockets – :-) Oh yes,and he plays electric violin.
The moon was out but fuzzy the whole night, and they played “Grey Street” while I watched it. I sang, I shouted, I danced. It was Dave, and it doesn’t get better than that.
In other news, I take it back. I will buy a car. It’s hard to go to concerts hours away if you don’t have one.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2006 2:58 am

    Mmmm… Dave.
    I’m really, really glad that you had a good time. And…I’m definitely going to try to go to more Dave concerts. Happiness = DMB, outside, with the grass beneath my bare feet and people singing all around me:)

  2. June 8, 2006 3:58 am

    Definitely more concerts. Gotta always keep track of someone with a Warehouse membership (or give in and get one myself) so that I can get good seats like that. Yay Dave!

  3. June 8, 2006 9:58 pm

    Yay lesbians! But…Callie’s still mine, right?

  4. June 8, 2006 11:17 pm

    Nope! I stole her!
    Mine mine mine mine mine.

  5. June 9, 2006 1:03 am

    I’m glad you had a great time, because I did too. :) I am currently in the works of putting together a cd of dmb for my boyfriend, but it’s so hard to choose only so many songs that will fit on an 80 min audio cd, so I think it might have to be data / mp3 cd. hahah.

  6. June 9, 2006 3:49 am

    oh lord, choosing enough for just one CD? That’d be impossible!

Leave a Reply

