Skip to content

The Daily

April 11, 2006

Yesterday’s Michigan Daily had an article on the back page about the aweful world of the young-adult blog. You know, the one with no real focus or content, unedited, and not interesting to the wider world. You know, one like this. I have to say, he misses the point of good ol’ el jay. It’s such a grand time to write whatever crap you want, being full aware that it’s not serious, as long as you keep in mind one basic thing: no one really cares. I find it an amusing way to share pointlessness from my day, hear similar stories from people I don’t see often, and lets face it those all important quiz results are best shared on the lj. Basically, though, it doesn’t count as anything approaching serious writing, except for the once-a-semester poetic moment (it’s coming – this one’s actually gonna be edited). I don’t want the world at large to read my lj, or else I’d actually have to work for it, and goodness where would I be then if one of my favorite time-wastes actually took effort.
I do have to say, though, in agreement with this author, free verse poetry is frequently crap. Yeah that souns hypocritical. Deal. Is that how you spell ‘hypocritical’? *really wants to change it to ‘hippo-critical’)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2006 9:35 am

    it was uninteresting and i thought about how i’ve read a lot more interesting things in blogs than in newspapers that miss the point
    this is the kind of stuff one reads while taking a shit

  2. April 11, 2006 10:35 am

    You got “hypocritical” right, but you got “sounds” all wrong.
    Yeah that souns hypocritical.
    VIVE LE EL-JAY!!!!

  3. April 11, 2006 11:36 am

    Hehe me talk good
    :-D

Leave a Reply

