Skip to content

listening

February 23, 2006

I’m working on a paper right now for musicology, and listening to Bob Seger. At a pause to gather my thoughts, I tuned into the music with my full attention, but unlike how I usually do, I tried to listen to it like I do classical. Without really thinking about it, I turned on the parts of my brain that analyze classical music and distract me enough that I can’t enjoy Bach and get anything done, and found startling silence. It was the oddest sensation. The things that I listen for in classical music are completly absent, at least in that particular song, to the extent that I practically didn’t hear the music anymore, but rather just deafening silence where logic should have been. Perhaps I should use this in my paper…
Stay tuned – there’s a rant forming in my mind about this absurd paper we had to read for this class.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

