Skip to content

my research prof

January 23, 2006

Note to self: do best not to present article at research group meeting.
Today was apparently a literature group meeting, meaning that two of the grad students presented papers to the group. Translation: my prof ate Jesse alive, and Wencan only did a little better. I would have died if I was in Jesse’s place. It was scary enough to be in mine. To help include me as I don’t know any real science, Prof. Penner-Hahn asks me all the simple chem questions, and I always end up drawing a blank. Knew some stuff today, which was good, and he forgot that I’d taken 302, so I didn’t have to know some other stuff. But yeah those two guys… our prof is really nice, but really really smart. As in, Wencan is a physics major and he was getting told by our chem prof. So be prepared, if I have to present at one of these meetings (and somehow I doubt he’ll let me get through a year of research without a presentation) then I’m gonna make all of you sit through the presentation ahead of time and ask me questions. Ahhh intimidating.
In other news, it’s nice to get a feel for what real chemistry is, as well as the education I’m getting in bio and physics by going to these things. Confusing, though, because we talked about magnetic circular dichromism today, or MCB, and I kept thinking MCDB, and as the former is physics and the latter bio, yea much weirdness.
Anyay off to music.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2006 4:37 pm

    Well…..
    I’ve been there. Twice…albeit the same presentation. SO! yeah. If you need any help from afar….I’m always here to give it.
    But….if i manage to get myself killed, god forbid…I leave you one bit of advice now:
    DO NOT WING IT.
    Plan out what you are going to say. The “gist” of it all….DO NOT RECITE IT! Just know the general wording. Leave room for variety.
    DO NOT USE NOTE CARDS, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD. The notecards should be the slides of your powerpoint…and what you should say should be in your head.
    MINIMIZE THE NUMBER OF SLIDES! seriously. It tears you to leave some out….just do it. I didn’t want to. I was made to. And i’m grateful for it. COMPACT!
    PRACTICE IT about 10 times before you actually do it. seriously. at least 10 times. Once in front of a grad student if you can and have them give you advice on what to change or do differently.
    PREDICT THE QUESTIONS YOU WILL GET. Just that…just expect certain questions. In fact, make slides FOR those questions. I used 2 of my 4 extra question slides….and got asked about 5 questions i expected. (3 of which i didn’t….2 of those i answered well….one i kinda botched.)
    You will be nervous as hell….that won’t change. Just…be confident. Pretend you are a PhD. look them straight in the eye and talk loudly.
    Anywho…..that’s…..my “one” bit of advice.
    w00ts.
    MUST CLEAN NOW!

  2. January 23, 2006 7:43 pm

    hey thanks for the advice. Nice to hear it from someone who’s been there. I’ll have to save this comment…

  3. January 27, 2006 3:12 am

    Hey Marie…
    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/11023559/
    So, yeah. If you by chance want me to drive up and have me listen to your presentation and give you “advice”…..well…I’ll be around…
    Bow Chika Bow Wow in 3…..2……1….

Leave a Reply

