Skip to content

reflections

December 31, 2005

Wow, what a year. It started in Katie’s basement, and will end, in what I feel is wonderful symmetry, in Katie’s basement also. There was happiness so extreme that I couldn’t stop laughing, and tears also. I figured out a thing or two, and decided to unlearn about forty more. I found true friendships in people that I already knew were amazing. God I’ve learned a lot, in school and out. I didn’t think it was possible to get more emotional about friendship than I already was, but I think I’ve managed it. I could get really sappy here, but I’ll try to stay that impulse. I would like to thank a few people though. The following list is those that have been absolutely amazing, some in little ways, but all in wonderful ways. This is a group of people who I owe a lot to. You have my thanks.
Callie
Meg
Rob
Melinda
Katie
Yin
Sara
Adam

And now, on to quotes. Some words for my year. (in no particular order)

“Find ecstasy in life; the mere sense of living is joy enough” – Emily Dickinson

COMPANY
525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear. 525,600 minutes – how do you measure,
measure a year? In daylights, in sunsets, in midnights, in cups of coffee. In
inches, in miles, in laughter, in strife. In 525,600 minutes – how do you
measure a year in the life?
How about love? How about love? How about love? Measure in love. Seasons of
love.

SOLOIST 1
525,600 minutes! 525,000 journeys to plan. 525,600 minutes – how can you measure
the life of a woman or man?

SOLOIST 2
In truths that she learned, or in times that he cried. In bridges he burned, or
the way that she died.

COMPANY
It’s time now to sing out, tho the story never ends let’s celebrate remember a year in the life of friends. Remember
the love! Remember the love! Remember
the love! Measure in love. Seasons of love! Seasons of love

“Don’t stop believing
Hold onto that feeling” – Journey

“We are the people we hate.” – Mike Dulbs

And finally, a song that has always meant a lot to me. It goes both ways this year.

Bridge Over Trouble Water – Simon and Garfunkel

When you’re weary, feeling small,
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. When times get rough
And friends just can’t be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

When you’re down and out,
When you’re on the street,
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you.
I’ll take your part.
When darkness comes
And pain is all around,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Sail on silvergirl,
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind.

Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

