Skip to content

the year in review

December 7, 2005

2005
1.What did you do in 2005 that you’d never done before?
Learned to trust in a whole new way.
2. Did you keep your new years’ resolutions, and will you make more
for next year?
Don’t do new years resolutions. I tend to resolve things as they need changing, not when the year needs changing.
3. Did anyone close to you give birth?
Nope.
4. Did anyone close to you die?
No.
5. What countries did you visit?
Canadia!
6. What would you like to have in 2006 that you lacked in 2005?
Stability.
7. What date from 2005 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The big days are all in a haze. 10/18. Move out last spring.
8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Staying (mostly) sane.
9. What was your biggest failure?
Remaining the person I want to be.
10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
I keep getting random bruises on my shins that weird me out. A few colds. That’s about it…
11. What was the best thing you bought?
Rob Thomas’s CD.
12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
The list of wonderful people just grows longer…in particular Katie, Yin, Sara, Melinda, Callie, Meg, Rob, and Adam in the last few weeks. My family always.
13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
I don’t think I can type that here…Prez. Bush. Always and forever.
14. Where did most of your money go?
College. Always and forever.
15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
February-April: life.
16. What song will always remind you of 2005?
“Don’t Stop Believing”, “Seasons of Love”, and “Ever the Same”
17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
i. happier or sadder? Personally sadder, but socially happier.
ii. thinner or fatter? Thinner.
iii. richer or poorer? Richer actually. Love this job.
18. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Homework.
19. What do you wish you’d done less of?
Crying.
20. How will you be spending Christmas?
Home, talking with my brother, hanging with Sara, IMing A2 people, and generally doing ‘drain type stuff.
22. Did you fall in love in 2005?
Nope.
23. How many one-night stands?
47 and a quarter. Or zero. Pick your favorite number.
24. What was your favorite TV program?
Will and Grace
25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Nope. Don’t do the hate thing. Though a special version of intense anger is reserved for Fred Phelps and his ilk.
26. What was the best book you read?
Return of the King. Though the new HP was good, even though it made me really really really sad.
27. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Old stuff I’d forgotten.
28. What did you want and get?
Friendship. It’s too broad a term, but it’s what it is.
30. What was your favorite film of this year?
Finding Neverland.
31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was sick actually, and cried, and went to lab, and other such not cool things. But I turned 20, which was a good thing, so I spose it evens out.
32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Knowing I can do it. Actually doing it would be even better, but having self confidence again, that’d be enough.
33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2005?
Uhh, getting progressively more scrubby. Oh yeah…I should shower soon.
34. What kept you sane?
Knowing that there were three who would catch me if I fell.
35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Well, I did finally discover why people thing Johnny Depp is hot, so I’ll say him. Though Rob Thomas rocks my world, as always.
36. What political issue stirred you the most?
Hah all of them. LGBT affairs. Gitmo. Bush being an ass. Federal financial aid funding. The supreme court. Michigan’s economy. I must have stolen Katie’s care for politics.
37. Who did you miss?
My Sara.
38. Who was the best new person you met?
Cameron!
39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2005:
Be happy while you can, and surround yourself with friends for when you can’t.
40. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:
“Don’t stop believing
Hold onto that feeling.”
I could say so much more, but I think I’ll leave it at that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

