Skip to content

unrelatedness, asper usual

November 27, 2005

FYI, the space bar here at home sucks.

Lord,
Grant me the grace to accept what I cannot change,
The strength to change what I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

I’m looking to start my undergrad research next term, and have narrowed it down to the following profs. Any suggestions as to who I should pick?
Hashim Al-Hashimi, Assistant Professor. 2821 Chem, (615-3361), hashimi@umich.edu. Structure and dynamics of nucliec acids and ribonnucleoproteins using NMR spectroscopy.
John R. Barker, Professor. Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences and Chemistry. 1520 Space Research, (734-763-6239), jrbarker@umich.edu. Chemical Kinetics, Atmospheric Chemistry; Molecular Energy Transfer.
Zhan Chen, Assistant Professor, 4809 Chem, (615-4189), zhanc@umich.edu. Biomaterial and Polymer Surface, Biocompatibility.
M. David Curtis, Professor. 2807 Chem, (734-763-2132), mdcurtis@umich.edu. Organometallic and Conducting Polymers.
Anthony H. Francis, Professor. 4817 Chem, (734-763-1125), afrancis@umich.edu. Magnetic Resonance, Vibrational and Electronic Spectroscopy of Materials.
Vincent L. Pecoraro, Professor. 3823 Chem, (734-763-1519), vlp@umich.edu. Synthetic Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry.
James E. Penner-Hahn, Professor. 4823 Chem, (734-764-7324), jeph@umich.edu. Biophysical Chemistry and Inorganic Spectroscopy.
Ayyalusamy Ramamoorthy, Associate Professor. 4533 Chem, (734-747-6572), ramamoor@umich.edu.. Solid-State NMR Spectroscopy; Structural Biology of Membrane Proteins; Study of Polymers.
Erik R.P. Zuiderweg, Professor of Biological Chemistry and Chemistry. 4020 Chem (734-936-3850), zuiderwe@umich.edu. Biomacromolecular Chemistry.

Also, what do I want for Christmas? I really don’t know. I want to open presents, but the things that I want right now are hope, good grades, and groceries. That’s about all I can think of to ask for, and none really work on a Christmas list. I spose I’ll go with the usual: more dmb, a few other new CDs, maybe a book, try to fit in something useful. Maybe I’ll just ask for a CD and say give the rest to charity and wrap empty boxes for me to open.

*sigh* I don’t want to be a cynic anymore.

“What I want is what I’ve not got/ and what I need is all around me./ I reach and search and never stop.”
C’mon, you wouldn’t expect anything less than Dave to end an entry like this, now would ya?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2005 10:13 pm

    This might be racist, and I know nothing about the chemistry department, but if you’re going to need personal guidance from the prof, you might want to be sure they speak good English first. I mean, I’m sure they do, and I have nothing against foreign professors, but that might help if you’re researching together.

  2. November 27, 2005 12:48 pm

    *laughs* I actually had considered that already…and had a hard time making myself email the foreign names as easily as the American ones.

  3. November 27, 2005 5:25 pm

    Dude….
    I must say that I really like that prayer. Life never deal out what you expect…and i guess it helps you roll with the punches life throws out. Just know that everything is going to work out in the end. Not what you expected, though. Life would be boring if things worked out how you expected them to.
    And….yeah.
    About what *I* would pick…
    John R. Barker, Professor. Atmospheric, Oceanic and Space Sciences and Chemistry. 1520 Space Research, (734-763-6239), jrbarker@umich.edu. Chemical Kinetics, Atmospheric Chemistry; Molecular Energy Transfer
    Vincent L. Pecoraro, Professor. 3823 Chem, (734-763-1519), vlp@umich.edu. Synthetic Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry.
    Erik R.P. Zuiderweg, Professor of Biological Chemistry and Chemistry. 4020 Chem (734-936-3850), zuiderwe@umich.edu. Biomacromolecular Chemistry.
    But i’d of coure favor you trying to convince the school to give you funds to do your own Damn Research! But…that’s just me.
    But yeah. those. no order or anything….just…not you plugging away on machines all day. Which is fun…but trust me…get’s very annoying.
    Anyway.
    Go dave. Good writer.
    and I think i know what i’m getting you for CHRIST! MAS! (which celebrates what mary magdalin scream out durring their “private sessions”. She also spoke spanish. Don’t ask how that works…)

Leave a Reply

