Skip to content

football: still overrated

September 10, 2005

(written after the U of M/Notre Dame match, for those of you not from here…’twas my first game)Mmm now I can say it and be sure I know what I’m talking about: I still don’t like football. Adding a hundred thousand people and better athleticismto the games I attended in high school didn’t change the fact that the sport just doesn’t interest me. I’ll prolly be selling a lot of tickets now…
But yeah. Fun times, the crowd stuff. Made me wish I enjoyed the game. Chants are always great, and the key thing amused me to no end. Watching Adam flail was great fun, and the girls behind me were teasing their guy friends in the most amusing manner.
Unfortunately, I have to add a bit of ranting here though. To all the fans that threw stuff: grow up or go to OSU. We’re supposed to be the “leaders and the best” and we always put down the buckeyes, so how ’bout we send our poor sports there, where we can properly mock them? (In case some of you haven’t noticed from talk of varsity jackets and captaincies…sports etiquette is rather important to me.) I can put up with most chants, because those at least stay in the crowd, and they do amuse me in their irreverence, but throwing stuff onto the field because we weren’t the better athletes (lets face it, we weren’t), that’s childish. Sportsmanship is about being the bigger person. It’s about respect. Fans can pout all they want, but they disrespect BOTH teams by causing game delays. We look like an undisciplined rabble on national tv. Respect sport, respect our athletes, and let the game play on. Honestly, I think a lot of chants cross the line. As much as I seem to support it, I don’t know that I like the hockey swear word chant.
Okay I think I’ll stop now. I don’t want to insult anyone. I just wanna say that part of what I don’t like about football is the attitude that goes with it. That’s not sport as I learned it.
Game highlights: the swallows and dragonflies and even one Monarch butterfly that flew by! I think they were wondering what the heck was going on, and enjoying the spectacle of it all. The spectacle…that was fun. I quite enjoyed it, even if it felt like a play with no audience. Sometimes it’s fun to simply play ones part and not question. The full big house looks smaller than the half full version I saw at Adam’s graduation, but yet it made me feel quite small anyway.
So yes, my thoughts on U of M football.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2005 5:02 pm

    The only games Elizabeth and I went to were the ones where we played the national anthem. As soon as our violins were packed we RAN as far as we could from the field, we usually ended up going for coffee
    haha

  2. September 10, 2005 10:01 pm

    OOOOOOOOooooowwww!!!
    You got pwnd, i heard.
    YOWZA!
    Well…yeah. We already talked about this. So. There.
    Huh. As for me….i don’t know. I have never been to a football game. But, i imagine i’d be able to get into it. You know, i am wonderful at brainwashing myself into getting into the spirit. Hell, i’d even have fun at that ice shaving game if the crowd was into it.
    WHOOO HOOO!!!
    anyway.
    I think i’ll write my entry and go to bed.

Leave a Reply

