Skip to content

poetry

September 8, 2005

Accomplishment of the day: I’m getting better at defining poetry. Today’s thoughts are the following:
1. Poetry seeks expression through something beyond standard English, i.e. meter, ryhme, visual appeal, punctuation.
2. Poetry is beautiful, in a broadly defined Marie-ish sense of the word.
In other news, relavant to fellow ‘drainers, Pat Lyall is in my creative writing class. Btw, if you didn’t know, he’s on the U of M football team. Get this, though, he actually has smart opnions. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sure he’s an intelligant guy, but I didn’t think he was the sort to show up to a creative writing class and actually intelligently discuss the works. One just doesn’t peg his type for that sort of thing. Yay for ignoring the rules!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2005 10:22 pm

    Here’s an improv poem.
    The light of the stars
    shines down from afar
    And inspires in me
    a reason to see.
    From far within myself away from sight
    the seed of my soul grows til it sees light
    And the memory of my internal fray
    Shall pass into ever lasting day.
    Singing:
    OOH GLAHG GLAHG! OOH GLAHG GLAHG!
    OOH GLAHG GLAHG! OOH GLAHG GLAHG!
    OOH GLAHG GLAHG! OOH GLAHG GLAHG!
    GLAHG! GLAHG! GLAHG! GLAHG!!!!
    HA!
    there.
    How do you like THEM apples, YO!?!
    (seriously. I think everyone should do some improv poety)

  2. September 9, 2005 5:41 am

    haha okay yeah…I’m a perfectionist about poetry. “Improv” has no place within a hundred miles of poetry…yeah. I’m the one that edits my poems a dozen times. When I’m asked for a rough draft in class, it’s already the third copy. It HAS to be perfect…
    Nah, I freewrite if I want something improv. That’s a fun adventure in of itself.

Leave a Reply

